Skip to content

Cowboys sign 21 undrafted free agents

May 1, 2012

The Cowboys signed 21 undrafted free agents and although they didn’t take my personal favorites like QB Case Keenum, CB Chase Minnifield, WR Patrick Edwards, PR Cordarro Law, or LB Noah Keller they did bring in some good talent that excites me. Below I ranked the players added into 4 categories: Great picks, interesting picks, don’t know them, and terrible picks. As usual most guys fall under the don’t know them category and many are small school prospects but a few more caught my eye than in previous years. I’m actually very impressed with this undrafted free agent class though it pales in comparison the Philadelphia’s which was headlined by RB Chris Polk, CB Cliff Harris, S WR Damaris Johnson, WR Aaron Pflugrad, and S Phillip Thomas. It’s interesting to note that Harris, Johnson, and Thomas have huge red flags character wise attached to them and each arguably is a 4th round talent but went undrafted due to their off the field behavior. As usual I find myself loving the way the Eagles run their ball club but again I do like the Cowboys picks and I’ve broken them down below.

 

Great picks:

Oklahoma State tackle Levy Adcock-I had an early 4th round grade on the OG/OT fromOklahomaState. Most publications had him as a 3rd rounder most of the season so it’s pretty shocking that he wasn’t drafted. A great pickup who will battle for playing time at OG but also at RT as I think he has more athleticism than many give him credit for.

Cole Beasley WR Southern Methodist –This pickup makes an interesting camp battle as I had a late 6th round grade on Beasley and an early 7th round grade on Danny Coale. Despite the Cowboys adding one as a 5th round draft pick and the other as an undrafted free agent I think this camp battle could be much closer than many think. Beasley was one of my sleepers as he had back to back +1,000 yard seasons in C-USA and has an elite burst and outstanding hands. Reminds me of a slightly shorter Dane Sanzenbacher who was a sleeper for me last year, also went undrafted, and ended up with one of the 5 best statistical seasons of any rookie wideout.

George Bryan TE North Carolina State-It’s funny because I wanted the Cowboys to take George Bryan at TE instead of James Hanna in the 6th round. James is the superior athlete, by a lot, butBryan is one of those players that gets better the more you watch him. He isn’t fast but he’s a big guy who can block, catches everything thrown his way, and so consistently came down with balls in traffic that I could see him being the favored TE over Hanna if the team lets them compete. Or the Cowboys could just cut him as they want the higher upside project as their #3 TE and Hanna obviously has a higher ceiling due to his elite measurables.

Eddie Whitley S Virginia Tech-Whitley had a 6th round grade on my board as the safety from Va Tech impressed me with his ball skills when the ball was in the air. He was a productive player but is pretty thin (184 lbs at his pro day) so he’ll have to gain weight but I like him as a backup safety who excels in coverage. In his bio I stated that I was getting the feeling that he wouldn’t be drafted but I liked him as a diamond in the rough type. Good pickup for the Boys.

Columbia tackle Jeff Adams-I had a 7th round grade on him as he impressed me at the East-West Shrine game as he has good feet, elite length, and was very mobile. He’s pretty light in the butt right now and will need to gain another 15-20 lbs before he’s ever able to be a legit OT in this league but he has the athleticism to possibly be a LT down the road. I like this pick a lot as he’s a great developmental OT to groom for a few years and a guy who maybe could be ready in 2013 to be the team’s swing tackle on game days (backup LT and RT). Very smart pick.

 

Interesting picks:

Troy Woolfolk CB Michigan-Experienced CB out of a big program. I wasn’t a huge fan but others like him so as a FA he’s a good pick.

Notre Dame tackle Taylor Dever-Similar situation as I personally wasn’t a big fan but I heard his name mentioned by others as a late round guy so as a FA he’s another good pick.

Tim Benford WR Tennessee Tech-He showed me a little bit of talent at the East-West Shrine Game and others liked him a lot (I never saw a Tennessee Tech game). Not a great selection but as an undrafted FA and at a position of need it makes sense.

Darrell Scott RB South Florida-Well the Eagles took the #1 RB out of HS 3 years ago in Bryce Brown and the Cowboys opted for a similar player as Scott was the #2 RB from ’08. I liked the Eagles pick and like the Cowboys pick as well as you get to bring in a former blue chip player and see if there’s still talent in him that just needs more developing. Interesting pickup for the Boys.

 

Don’t know them:

Miami guard Harland Gunn

Idaho tackle Tyrone Novikoff
Lance Dunbar RB North Texas 
Saalim Hakim WR Tarleton State 
Adrian Hamilton LB Prairie View A&M 
Charley Hughlett LS Central Florida 
Donavon Kemp WR UTEP 
Isaac Madison CB Arkansas 
Andrew Szczerba TE Penn State 
Aston Whiteside LB Abilene Christian 


Terrible pickup:

Lionel Smith CB Texas A&M –A&M had a terrible secondary last year yet he couldn’t even get on the field as he was the #4 CB behind Judie, Frederick, and Harris. Not impressed with us adding a guy who sucked in college.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

