Skip to content

2015 Live Blog (Rounds 4-7)

May 2, 2015

This blog has ended.

Well this concludes my NFL Draft Blog. The 7th round was rather boring as I didn’t get in depth enough to know more than half the players and the Cowboys two selections were both unknown so I perused analysis on the internet and camea cross Bob Sturm’s Top 80 guys. Apparently he pulled a Top 100 list and graded out his Top 80. I have to admit it is an interesting list as you can tell he did his research since it isn’t cookie cutter. One thing I hate to see is too much similarity as it just means people are copying and pasting stuff to make a list. Having made a list of Top 30, 50, 100, 200, 250 and 500 players (depended on the year) for the past 16 years I know how little work is needed if you copy and past and then move a few guys up or down. Sturm appears to have some original ideas on players but nonetheless a few of his rankings are a little absurd to me so I thought I’d do a shortened version of Jon vs. Mayock with the first edition of Anderson vs. Sturm. Enjoy:

Best Pass Rusher: I have Dante Fowler who I didn’t see as a Top 5 talent but did see as a complete player vs. Sturm’s pick of Vic Beasley who he somehow placed at #2 Overall? Honestly I can’t fathom how he saw Beasley as a better prospect than Jameis Winston or Kevin White. Beasley was #18 on my board by the way.

Best Quarterback: I have Jameis Winston who I think is a franchise QB and he has Marcus Mariota who is more of a wildcard and has some major bust potential.

Best Cornerback: I went with Marcus Peters who is a big, strong cornerback with great ball skills while Sturm went with the consensus in Trae Waynes.

Cooper vs. Goldman: I had to get Xavier Cooper in somewhere as he was a 1st rounder on my board and wasn’t as highly rated by anyone else I read but Sturm is a poor victim as he had a mid 2nd round grade on him which is higher than the consensus so he saw the talent as well. Yet I’ll pick on him anyway as he has Eddie Goldman as the #26 player in this draft which I find absurd. I fully expect Xavier to become an impact DT and Goldman to have 20-30 tackles a year as a part time starter.

Cooper vs. Parker: I think Amari Cooper is overrated but he’s polished and very talented so he’s deserving of the #2 spot. Sturm thinks DeVante Parker actually is the #2 guy and had him at #6 Overall?

Agholar vs, Dorial Green-Beckham: Another WR comparison as Agholar was very close to being the #3 WR on my board but settled in at #4. On Sturm’s board he’s the #6 WR behind Perriman (no major harm there as he was #5 on my board) AND DGB who was a late 3rd rounder and not a top 80 player. So in other words he was #25 on Sturm’s Top 80 board but wouldn’t have even been on my Top 80 board. Huge discrepancy so we will see who is correct.

I’ve periodically viewed Sturm’s stuff and usually came away unimpressed (like how he didn’t see Zach Martin as a 1st round guard last year? “I don’t think I would love him where the Cowboys are (pick #16).”), but it appears to be getting better so I might continue to do comparisons with him. Mayock is very talented though and everyone in the country knows him so I’ll probably just stick with my comparisons with him and avoid the “part timers” like Sturm.

243. Cowboys: Laurence Gibson-An OT that I’d never heard of. I wonder if they are taking best available or really felt like they needed to add depth at LB and OL as that has been where their Day 3 picks have clumped. I still make the case that La’el Collins is worth a shot right here and it will be interesting to compare in 3 years knowing that the Cowboys passed on him not once but twice in the 7th round AND even chose a different OT instead of him.

Cowboys on the clock: The best available board is little changed since their last pick but I’ll post it anyway. It is very CB centric even with Ifo being taken as it just lumped another CB on from the back end.

  1. La’el Collins OG LSU Jr.
  2. Julian Wilson CB OU Sr.
  3. Kevin White CB TCU Sr.
  4. Terrence McGee RB LSU Jr.
  5. Cody Fajardo QB Nevada Sr.
  6. Andre Monroe DT Maryland Sr.
  7. Kenneth Penny CB UNLV Sr.
  8. EJ Bibbs TE Iowa St. Sr.
  9. Jean Sifrin TE Umass Jr.                                  Late 5th
  10. Ladarius Gunter CB Miami Sr.                       6th round

241. Browns: Ifo Ekpre-Olumu-I’m happy he was drafted as the kid was a late 1st rounder on my board before the injury and him being drafted will allow him to be with a team, have the best doctors in the world due to his association with the NFL and be given an IR year. Word is that he didn’t just tear an ACL but shredded his knee ala Marcus Lattimore who never played a down in the NFL so this is by no means a steal, it just COULD be a steal if he gets back on the field. I like the roll of the dice at this point though.

239. Steelers: Gerod Holliman-Elite production with 14 interceptions last year to lead the country. A lot of scouts knocked him because he is a very poor tackler and gambled a lot. I liked his film but agree that his production was a little flukey and he isn’t quite the prospect it makes him out to be. Still though it surprised me he dropped this far and in the 7th round it’s a steal anytime you get the NCAA leader in any category. Good pick.

236. Cowboys: Mark Nzeocha-Another LB that I’ve never heard of. Again I just don’t get why they can’t get off their “best available” and grab one of these talented CBs since it is a position of need. RB and DT are needs but the real talent left on the board is at CB which is a need too with Carr likely being cut and Claiborne being gone in 2016. That will just leave Byron Jones and Orlando Scandrick with the latter currently away from the team in a contract dispute. Get a slot CB like Kevin White, a big CB like Julian Wilson or a former 1st rounder you’d IR in Ifo Ekpre-Olumu. Also wouldn’t Collins make sense as a LG replacement for Ronald Leary when he hits free agency in 2016? He’s also a 1st round talent. They love rolling the dice on guys like Jones and Gregory but why not roll the dice on Collins when the risk/reward ratio is even more appealing? Oh he did commit murder and we cut him immediately and are out a 7th rounder vs. oh he was sitting at his house playing x-box when his childhood friend did something terrible but now he’s cleared and we got a Pro Bowl guard in the 7th round. That is a pretty nice risk/reward in my eyes.

Cowboys pick coming up: Below is the top 10 available with the Cowboys now on the clock:

  1. La’el Collins OG LSU Jr.
  2. Julian Wilson CB OU Sr.
  3. Kevin White CB TCU Sr.
  4. Ifo Ekpre-Olumu CB Oregon Sr.                     4th round
  5. Terrence McGee RB LSU Jr.
  6. Cody Fajardo QB Nevada Sr.
  7. Andre Monroe DT Maryland Sr.
  8. Kenneth Penny CB UNLV Sr.
  9. EJ Bibbs TE Iowa St. Sr.
  10. Jean Sifrin TE Umass Jr.                                  Late 5th

229. Jaguars: Ben Koyak-I wasn’t a huge fan of Ben’s as a I saw him as as a career #2 TE but in the 7th round that is good value even if he doesn’t get any better than that. The Jaguars continue to impress me with their mid to late round selections. I really think they are a good QB away from being a playoff contender year in and year out. That franchise is pointing in the right direction.

A blind guy, a douchebag and a stroke victim walk into a bar….

Kiper 2

ESPN Set: What is up with Mel Kiper’s glasses? It makes him look like a blind guy. Who wears dark glasses on camera?

219. Browns: Hayes Pullard-I didn’t finish scouting the linebackers but I’m shocked Pullard was available in the 7th round. I saw a late 3rd/early 4th round type guy on film as he has incredible instincts and production but isn’t a great athlete. I’m curious as to why he fell.

217. Chiefs: Rakeem Nunez-Roches-He was the #5 player left on my board as I saw him as a rotational DT with a chance to start down the road. His movement skills were elite for a DT and I think he’d have been a 3rd rounder if he had a Florida State helmet on instead of a Southern Mississippi on.

216. Texans: Christian Covington-He was the #2 remaining player on my board and with the #1 (La’el Collins) currently in a murder investigation he essentially was the best remaining talent on the board. In 2012-2013 he had good seasons and looked like an incredibly athletic one gap DT. In 2014 he was banged up and his production and tape just didn’t measure up. Smart GMs scout a whole team when viewing film and not just the draft eligible players so you have a feel for a guy before he becomes eligible. The Texans must have been comfortable knowing his 2014 was the aberration. They just added more talent for Watt to lead and they are becoming a very good D.

208. Titans: Andy Gallik-Gallik was #13 remaining on my board and is a guy I liked. I didn’t hear any buzz on him so it’s no surprise he was available at the end of the 6th round but he was a good player on tape that was hurt by a 40 time of 5.50. His USC game in particular was quite impressive when he went against Leonard Williams. He should be a solid backup early and has the size and agility to maybe be a starter down the road.

Bill Polian: Every time I hear Bill Polian on live t.v. I think the same thing: Did he recently have a stroke? He is so worthless as an analyst!

200. Lions: Quandre Diggs-Great pick as he was the #5 available guy on my board and continues this rare trend where actual talent is still available at the CB position this late in the draft. There are a lot of drafts where the CB position has been picked bare by the 4th or 5th round and Ifo Ekpre-Olumu is still out there as the 7th round nears. Diggs after his freshman year looked like a future 1st rounder but he had some terrible games the past two years. He has very good speed and quickness though and projects as a capable slot corner.

194. Bills: Nick O’Leary-Interesting because they just signed Charles Clay this offseason and O’Leary is a poor man’s Clay. I like O’Leary as a #3 TE but never was wowed by him as he is just so limited physically. He’s also tough as nails though and might have the best hands of any TE OR RECEIVER in this draft so he should find his niche in the NFL. Solid pick this late.

191. Chargers: Darius Philon-Damn it! I was just praying that he’d fall to the Cowboys and they’d pull the trigger on this underrated talent. As I said earlier I think Philon shouldn’t have come out in the draft this year and if he had returned he likely would have been a Top 50 pick. This is one of the 5 best value picks in the draft.

189. Browns: Charles Gaines-The #8 guy on my board Gaines is a very solid CB and usually there isn’t much talent available this late in the draft. I like conversion cornerbacks who were previously wide receivers as it guarantees you that they have good hands and ball skills. Gaines fits that bill and, though his tape was average at times, I still like him here as he’s only been a CB for 2 years and he has very good measurables.

185. Vikings: Tyrus Thompson-He was the #3 available player on my board so I consider this a steal. Daryl Williams went a few rounds earlier but Thompson is the more talented player. Some don’t think he’s a hard worker and I see a little of that on film but he has good feet and should be very comfortable as a RT. He’s just a physical specimen that was incredible value this late in the draft. You don’t nitpick these players at this stage as if you cut them in training camp it won’t be a big deal so you can just take high upside guys with some red flags and Thompson is that type of prospect.

182. Redskins: Tevin Mitchel-ESPN listed him as an OLB showing that they don’t even know what they’re talking about with Mitchel as he’s a CB that was on my radar big time but I honestly thought he wouldn’t get drafted. That isn’t saying it is a bad pick though as he was my #20 available player but I grade players and the likelihood they go at a certain point is never in the discussion. The same thing occurred with DT Xavier Coleman from Washington State as I had a 1st round grade on him but knew he wouldn’t go until the 3rd-5th round area. He slipped in as a late 3rd rounder in the end and someone got a steal. Mitchel is a tall, skinny and athletic CB that has starter talent. To get him in the 6th round is good value talent wise but the kid had no buzz so I always assumed he’d go undrafted. He’s another good pick by the Redskins who, like the Jaguars, are also starting to make a name for themselves as quality drafters.

180. Jaguars: Michael Bennett: It’s funny because for two straight years the Jaguars have made a dubious pick at #3 Overall in the Draft, especially last year where Blake Bortles was clearly not the best QB in the draft, but then proceeded to pick up good value with each and every pick the rest of the way. Bennett at this point in the draft is an absolute steal (#3 available) as there was some 1st round chatter about him during the draft process and I felt like a dropped him farther down my board than the consensus when I gave him a late 2nd round grade. The Jaguars are quietly becoming a very underrated drafting team and are stockpiling a lot of talent on that roster.

174. Panthers: Cameron Artis-Payne-He was the #20 available player on my board so it’s a solid pick at this point. He won’t ever start for an NFL club he projects as a dependable #2 which presents solid value in the 6th round.

167. Saints: Damian Swann-Solid pick as the #18 available and a guy that at one time I had a 3rd round grade on and projected him as a future starter. He dropped from that grade as he seemed to plateau in his career but at this point in the draft he’s good value as a #4 or #5 CB who has the size and athleticism to maybe become something more.

164. Broncos: Lorenzo Doss-Very good pick as he was the #6 available on my board and is one of the last remaining talents at CB. Ifo Ekpre-Olumu is still there too but has major injury issues to work through. Doss is a ball hawk with a lot of career interceptions and we know Elway values production as it is his MO when it comes to drafting. I am not quite as stat heavy as he is but do value production as well and think Doss is a steal here in the 5th round.

163. Cowboys: Ryan Russell-Another player that I’ve never heard of. It’s also strange that they took a DE as with Greg Hardy, DeMarcus Lawrence, Randy Gregory and Jeremy Mincey they appear to have a full house for 2015 with Lawrence and Gregory being long term solutions too. I still am surprised that RB and DT have not been addressed and personally think it will come back and haunt them. Let’s see who they select in the 6th round but unless it is a good one I think hindsight will show that they should have packaged it with #163 to move ahead of 149 and get Jay Ajayi.

162. Bucs: Kenny Bell-I really like this pick as he was #6 on my list and he never seemed to get appreciated by the scouting community due to the run oriented system he played in. The kid had a freaky Combine with an incredible vertical jump and very good 40. He’s one of the best blocking wideouts in this draft as well and I just see a good #3 immediately who eventually becomes a good #2.

Cowboys Pick Coming Up: With one pick away before the Cowboys are on the clock I wanted to post my top 10 available. As you can see the depth of the DT class is starting to pile up on my board as Philon, Bennett and Covington all are DTs who are in my Top 5 available. Any would be a steal at this point but especially Philon who probably would have been a late 1st/early 2nd if he had stayed in school another year. I knew it was a mistake him coming out as a redshirt Sophomore but understand that this kid was a 2nd team SEC selection and was far superior to teammate Trey Flowers who was taken early in the 4th round. He’s my dream pick for the Cowboys.

  1. La’el Collins OG LSU Jr.
  2. Darius Philon DT Arkansas Soph
  3. Michael Bennett DT Ohio State Sr.
  4. Tyrus Thompson OT Oklahoma Sr.
  5. Christian Covington DT Rice Jr.
  6. Kenny Bell WR Nebraska Sr.
  7. Lorenzo Doss CB Toledo                                  Late 3rd
  8. Julian Wilson CB OU Sr.
  9. Quandre Diggs CB Texas Sr.                           Early 4th
  10. Kevin White CB TCU Sr.

156. Dolphins: Tony Lippett-Tony wasn’t a top guy as either a CB or WR so I ended up not grading him but I do like him since I see NFL potential for him at either position. Think Troy Brown or Julian Edelman in terms of roles with a team. Interestingly enough both those guys are slot wideouts and slot cornerbacks but Lippett projects as an outside WR and outside CB which makes him even more valuable. An interesting guy for sure and one I’ll want to keep tabs on in the future to see how he does.

155. Bills: Karlos Williams-I had a 6th round grade on him so he is by no means a steal here, especially with Ajayi off the board just 6 picks ago, but he’s a big, physical RB that could eventually be used in a platoon with a more athletic and talented player. I think it makes some sense here.

149. Dolphins: Jay Ajayi-Well Jay is the 2nd time in 3 picks that the #2 available player was taken off my board. I like Ajayi but never loved him to I’m not going to see you on how this was 4 rounds too late but it probably was 2 rounds too late and I see Ajayi being a good fit as a platoon guy with Lamar Miller. Miller is the faster, more talented back while Ajayi is the bigger, stronger guy. Miller is one part of the platoon and he will battle with Knowshon Moreno to be the other part of it. Good pick and great value.

147. Packers: Brett Hundley-Great pick as he was the #2 available and has all the talent in the world but is still very raw. There will be no calls for Hundley to start in Year 1 or even Year 2 when he probably won’t be ready so it is a great fit. Hundley reminds me of Jake Locker body wise and Colin Kaepernick style wise. He’s just a ball of clay right now that some team can mold but he has Top 15 QB type tools if someone can develop his mechanics and the mental aspect of the game for him. Honestly I doubt he ever becomes anything but guys with his tool set are rare so he was worth a shot as a 2nd or 3rd rounder. For the Packers to get him in the 5th round is an absolute steal.

146. Vikings: Stefon Diggs-Great pick as he was the #7 available and projects as a potential #2 WR down the road. What’s interesting though is he has a similar game to Mike Wallace and Jarius Wright. They have a lot of deep speed but maybe could use a possession receiver to mix it up.

142. Bears: Adrian Amos-A solid pick in the 5th round. I didn’t have an official grade on him yet but he looked like a late 3rd/early 4th on my initial review. He’s another guy like Josh Shaw that some saw as a big CB and some as a FS. I was of the FS view.

139. Jaguars: Rashad Greene-We have a fourth! Greene was my #11 available and is the 4th straight pick that was a top 11 guy on my board. Greene is a guy I thought was overrated all draft process but here he’s a borderline steal. He’s a short, rail thin guy but he runs great routes, has great hands and is one of the most experienced and polished guys at the position. To get him in the 5th round is a little silly.

I’m feeling like an auctioneer here, “I have three great picks can I get a fourth. Jacksonville do I have a 4th…going once….going twice…”

138. Titans: David Cobb-Okay now we are in a sweet spot with 3 straight great choices. Cobb was #11 available on my board and I honestly wouldn’t be surprised if he was starting over Bishop Sankey by the end of the year. Sankey is talented but I watched film of his and he seemed a little weak to me. Cobb is the opposite as I compared him to Marion Barber in style as they both just attack a defense. Cobb likely will have a short career too but I love him here as a platoon guy who you likely don’t re-sign after his rookie contract is up. Great pick.

Thomas Dimitroff-By the way, he has to take the award for coolest GM in the league right?

thomas-dimitroff-a

137. Falcons: Grady Jarrett-Back to back great picks as Grady was my #5 available and it’s shocking that he almost fell to the 5th round. There is film out there that makes a good case that he is a 2nd round talent. I ended up with him as a late 2nd/early 3rd round type as a one gap, penetrating DT. The Falcons are having a very solid draft with Beasley and Jarrett on the DL and Jalen Collins at CB. Those are three guys they’ve added that project as starters as rookies. It’s pretty rare to add 3 starters from a draft on one side of the ball and there are 3 rounds still to go. Good drafting Thomas Dimitroff.

135. Bengals: Marcus Hardison-I love this pick! Few people were more intriguing to me than Hardison was this year as he at times flashed 1st round talent on film. What’s interesting is I compared him to Carlos Dunlap and now he goes to the Bengals and will be playing with him. They both are 6’5/6’6 300 lb guys that have defensive end type mobility. Many saw Hardison as a DT, I saw him as a DL since he could be a 4-3 SDE, a 3-4 DE or a 4-3 DT depending on the scheme and what you are asking him to do. He was my #7 available and is a real steal here.

133. Broncos: Max Garcia-He’s a good value as my #13 available as he played inside of DJ Humphries (1st round) and Chaz Green (3rd round) yet at times looked as good or better than either of them. I never understood why this kid had no buzz as he projects to me as an above average starting OG or C which is great value in the late 4th round.

131. Patriots: Shaq Mason-He’s a good pick as he was a 3rd team All–American who completely dominated on tape. He comes from a triple option offense so he has technique that doesn’t translate to the next level which concerned some teams but was alleviated by him going to the Senior Bowl and playing very well. In a zone scheme there are few technicians better than Mason who plays football like a wrestler. Good pick.

Damien Wilson-He’s a JUCO transfer, a thumper in the run game and had 11.5 sacks in two seasons. I like his footage a lot actually and might come around on this pick as it could be less of a reach and more that I just wasn’t familiar with him. I’ll have to do a little research but it still doesn’t change the fact that I didn’t see LB as a big need as they have 4 starting caliber linebackers on their roster but only 2 starting caliber safeties and only 1 starting caliber DT.

I still question why the Cowboys are so against taking a RB. It’s almost like they are internally laughing at all the pundits who put RB as a need for them. You know the same way they laughed when they passed on Shariff Floyd as they didn’t see DL as a need. Midway through that season they had no one available to even suit up and had to scramble to grab guys like George Selvie off the street. I’m just pointing this out because RB was one of the two biggest need areas I had for the Cowboys and in successive rounds they’ve passed on Duke Johnson in the 2nd and Ajayi, Cobb, Davis and others in the 3rd and 4th rounds. Maybe they really do like the McFadden/Randle combo. One off the field incident by Randle or on the field injury by McFadden could make these past two selections look really stupid in hindsight.

127. Cowboys: Damien Wilson-I’ve never heard of him but didn’t delve into the linebacker class too much. He’s a linebacker out of Minnesota and at 6’0 245 appears to be a MLB, SLB type which makes sense as WLB and MLB appear to be covered nicely with Anthony Hitchens, Sean Lee and Rolando McClain.

126. 49ers: Mike Davis-Well that’s what I’m talking about. Davis is one of my favorites in this draft in terms of value as I had a 3rd round grade on him but few others did. If he had come out last year he would have been a possibility in late 2nd/early 3rd round but he had injuries in 2014 and struggled a bit. The 49ers are so good at adding talent in these middle rounds but honestly why did they take him? They already have Carlos Hyde, Reggie Bush and Kendall Hunter. I guess the thinking is they redshirt Davis and then in 2016 with Bush and Hunter being free agents they can have him compete for the #2 spot. Either way it is good value so maybe they don’t have a plan and just took the best player left on their board.#9 available on my board.

125. Ravens: Javorius Allen-Wow this is really surprising. I had 3 backs clumped together in Matt Jones, Malcolm Brown and Javorius Allen in the late round/free agent area that I saw as just 3 yards and a pile of dust types. Midway through the 4th round two of them have been taken while backs that actually do add yards to runs like Ajayi, Davis and Cobb are still available. This is quite surprising to me.

121. Steelers: Doran Grant-#9 available and a potential starter someday. He isn’t that big but he’s taller than 5’10 so he makes most team’s cutoff point of whether he can stay outside or must move inside as a slot CB. He had solid tape and was a bit underrated throughout the draft process. I wouldn’t have been surprised if he had gone a round earlier.

120. Bengals: Josh Shaw-I haven’t finished the safety class so he doesn’t have an official grade but it’d be at minimum in the 4th round as he can play CB or S, safety to me was his better position but the Bengals announced him as a CB, and it is good value here.

117. 49ers: Blake Bell-Interesting. I had him as a late round/free agent type as he is a project type, former QB with limited TE experience. The athleticism is there though and the 49ers already have a #1 and #2 TE in place with Vernon Davis and Vance McDonald so he’s a great fit, team wise.

113. Lions: Gabe Wright-I mentioned Wright earlier when his unheralded teammate went before him at the top of the 4th. I hated that pick but like this one as Wright is a boom/bust type with 2nd round talent that didn’t produce as much as he should have. He’s very athletic for a DT and could cause havoc as a part time player off the bench. Good pick.

111. Patriots: Tre Jackson-Great pick by the defending champs as he was the #11 on my board and I didn’t see a huge drop in talent between him and Cann (#2 OG on my board) or Tomlinson (#3 OG on my board) remember Tomlinson went on Day 1 of the draft and Cann on day 2. Jackson is possibly a better run blocker than either of them but is very slow and could struggle in pass protection. The Patriots can experiment with him and give him time to develop as they have a solid OL already so it’s a great luxury pick for them.

110. Vikings: TJ Clemmings-Well this one will be hard to beat and probably ends as the best value pick in the entire draft. Clemmings has comparable upside to their current LT Matt Kalil whom they took in the Top 5 a few years ago. To get a kid with that upside in the 4th round is insane. It’s also worth noting that the Cowboys chose an OT 20 or so picks earlier so if Clemmings fulfills his potential and becomes a Pro Bowler it will be a pretty bad stain on the Cowboys as well as the other teams that drafted mediocre talent in rounds 2, 3 and 4 instead of Clemmings. This is the best pick in the draft.

108. Titans: Jalston Fowler-Fowler didn’t make my board as I, just realized, forgot to scout the fullbacks but he was the #1 FB in this draft and is a dual threat as he has just enough athleticism to run and catch not just be a blocker. I like the pick here as it is solid value and he has enough versatility that he can be on the field in more than just short yardage plays.

107. Falcons: Justin Hardy-#26 available and a 4th round grade he is solid value here and fits well as a #3 WR who can learn from White and Jones with the possibility he takes over for White in 2-3 years.

106. Bears: Jeremy Langford-#32 on my board so not a huge reach but with Ajayi, Cobb and Mike Davis (more of a personal favorite than consensus favorite) still on the board I think this is pretty mediocre. Interesting too as they have Forte and added a quality RB last year who never played in Ka’Deem Carey. I’m wondering if they didn’t like Carey or just want a 3rd option.

105. Redskins: Jamison Crowder-I hate when division foes make great picks and the Redskins just made a great pick. Crowder was #18 available and really fits well with the team as they have the two outside receivers in DeSean Jackson and Pierre Garcon and Crowder can come in and be that pesky slot receiver. Quicker than fast he projects as a solid slot receiver and elite punt returner. Good value and great fit.

I forgot the Jets added Ryan Fitzpatrick. He’s one of the most underrated QBs in the NFL in my opinion so the analysis I just gave is probably wrong. I think the same scenario occurs but it’d be Fitzpatrick not Petty that would take over the reins mid-season.

103. Jets: Bryce Petty-I wasn’t even that big of a fan of Petty, late 2nd round grade to me, but this is incredible value. He was the #7 available on my board and I really think he will make a run at Geno Smith’s starting job. Neither are guys I like too much but Petty is a more accurate and smarter quarterback who can play an Andy Dalton type role for an offense. Smith too often was a turnover machine and I suspect that midway through the year one of his horrific games will get Smith benched for the rest of the season with the starting job moved over to Petty. Great value pick and it fills a need.

102. Panthers: Daryl Williams-#28 available so solid value here, Williams projects as an elite road grader at either RG or RT. I saw him more as a RG but others thought he had enough athleticism to stay at OT. He is a poor man’s DJ Fluker in size, strength and arm length so not bad in the 4th round.

I’m going to periodically pass picks up as there are a lot of guys that are going to start coming that I just don’t know much about and with 4 rounds to cover it would take too much time staying on top of each pick.

101. Patriots: Trey Flowers-He was the #52 player available but I was more down on him than most people so this at least makes sense. He just isn’t athletic enough to be any kind of pass rusher at the next level so I dropped him way down my board but my one positive I’ll give him is that he is an outstanding run stopper. I actually thought he should bulk up to a 3-4 DE. Maybe that is their plan but probably not as most said 4-3 SDE. An okay pick but he wasn’t one I liked.

100. Titans: Angelo Blackson-Well scratch my notion that the first picks in each day tend to be the most well thought out. I scouted Auburn and liked a DT on their team but Blackson wasn’t it. Gabe Wright was the NFL caliber DT I saw so it’s pretty surprising especially considering how much DT talent is available with Philon, Jarrett and Bennett. Bad pick.

Well here we go again. Round 1 was solid for the Cowboys, Round 2 was incredible and Round 3 was terrible. Overall I’d give them a B minus at this point in the draft but these next 4 picks are important as the defense could use depth and talent almost at every position while the offense still needs a solid RB to be added to the mix. Below are my Top remaining players I scouted. I’m looking at Mike Mayock’s board and his top 2 are my top 2 so there is a consensus that Cummings and Collins are elite talents and in the 4th round someone has to pull the trigger. Jay Ajayi, Mike Davis and David Cobb are the top 3 RBs available and there are numerous DTs available with Philon being my personal favorite and Grady Jarrett and Michael Bennett being more the consensus favorites. A lot of talent is left but if teams draft well to start Day 3, like I said before the start of each day tends to be the best picks while the end of each day tends to be the worst, then a lot of this talent could be out quickly. There are about 20 guys left that get me really excited and then there is little difference between these guys and the ones you’d pick up free in free agency. Just something to think about if considering a move up as losing a 6th or 7th round pick isn’t very meaningful in this draft since it isn’t very deep.

  1. TJ Clemmings OT Pittsburgh Jr.
  2. La’el Collins OG LSU Jr.
  3. Brett Hundley QB UCLA Jr.
  4. Jay Ajayi RB Boise St. Jr.
  5. Darius Philon DT Arkansas Soph
  6. Grady Jarrett DT Clemson Sr.
  7. Bryce Petty QB Baylor Sr.
  8. Michael Bennett DT Ohio State Sr.
  9. Marcus Hardison DT Arizona St. Sr.
  10. Tyrus Thompson OT Oklahoma Sr.
  11. Doran Grant CB Ohio St. Jr.           
  12. Mike Davis RB South Carolina Jr.
  13. Tre Jackson OG Florida State Sr.
  14. Stefon Diggs WR Maryland Jr.
  15. Christian Covington DT Rice Jr.
  16. Kenny Bell WR Nebraska Sr.
  17. Lorenzo Doss CB Toledo                                  Late 3rd
  18. David Cobb RB Minnesota Jr.
  19. Jamison Crowder WR Duke Sr.
  20. Max Garcia C Florida Sr.
  21. Rashad Greene C FSU Sr.
  22. Julian Wilson CB OU Sr.
  23. Quandre Diggs CB Texas Sr.                           Early 4th
  24. Kevin White CB TCU Sr.
  25. Rakeem Nunez-Roches Southern Miss Sr.
  26. Charles Gaines CB Louisville Sr.
  27. Ifo Ekpre-Olumu CB Oregon Sr.                     4th round
  28. Darryl Williams OG Oklahoma Sr.
  29. Justin Hardy WR East Carolina Sr.
  30. Terrence McGee RB LSU Jr.
  31. Gabe Wright DT Auburn Sr.
  32. Ben Koyack TE Notre Dame Jr.
  33. Nick O’Leary TE Florida St. Sr.                       Late 4th
  34. Cody Fajardo QB Nevada Sr.
  35. Jeremy Langford RB Michigan St. Sr.          Early 5th
  36. Shaq Mason C Georgia Tech Sr.                      5th round
  37. Andre Monroe DT Maryland Sr.
  38. Za’Darius Smith PR Kentucky Sr.
  39. Kenneth Penny CB UNLV Sr.
  40. Damian Swann CB Georgia Sr.
  41. EJ Bibbs TE Iowa St. Sr.
  42. Andy Gallik C Boston College
  43. Cameron Artis-Payne RB Auburn Sr.
  44. Jean Sifrin TE Umass Jr.                                  Late 5th
  45. Tevin Mitchel CB Arkansas Sr.                       Early 6th
  46. Kenny Hilliard RB LSU Jr.
  47. Ladarius Gunter CB Miami Sr.                       6th round
  48. Shane Carder QB East Carolina Sr.
  49. Karlos Williams RB FSU Jr.
  50. Reese Dismukes C Auburn                                Late 6th
  51. Trey Williams RB Texas A&M Jr.
  52. Trey Flowers PR Arkansas Sr.
  53. Deion Barnes PR Penn State Sr.
  54. Marlin Lane RB Tennessee Sr.
  55. Javorius Allen RB USC Jr.
  56. Malcolm Brown RB Texas Sr.
  57. Blake Bell TE Oklahoma Sr.                            Free Agent
  58. Josh Robinson RB Mississippi St.
  59. BJ Finney C Kansas State
  60. Dee Hart RB Colorado St.
  61. Michael Dyer RB Louisville Sr.
  62. Corey Grant RB Auburn Sr.
  63. John Crockett RB North Dakota St. Sr.
  64. Dominique Brown RB Louisville Sr.
  65. AJ Johnson LB Tennessee Sr.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

