Skip to content

Mike Mayock I want your job (2017 Comparison)

April 27, 2017

I ran out of time so I thought I’d post my 10 comparison before they get drafted so there is no worry I change them after seeing them get drafted to the perfect/worst situation. I’ll update this article tonight if possible.

  1. Mitchell Trubisky vs. DeShaun Watson: This is pretty straightforward as Mayock has a different #1 QB on his board than I do. I love Trubisky and have a Top 10 grade on him (#9 Overall) while I am very on the fence with Watson (late 1st grade, #34 Overall). He isn’t a huge fan of either (#20 Overall for Watson and #30 Overall for Trubisky) but has a clear preference for Watson over Trubisky so it’s a valid comparison.
  2. Dalvin Cook vs. Christian McCaffrey: I actually like McCaffrey too (#14 Overall) but prefer Cook (#10 Overall) which I assumed would be the norm. Instead Mayock had Cook not as his #2 or even #3 RB but as the #4 RB (behind Alvin Kamara as well). He has McCaffrey as the #8 Overall prospect on his board and Cook #29. I’m shocked by this as to me Cook is such a safe prospect as he had elite production back to back years, can run inside or outside and is a good receiver. I might agree McCaffrey has a higher upside but also is clearly a bigger risk to bust. I’m more surprised he has Cook as a fringe first rounder though. Maybe his medicals worry Mayock?
  3. Dan Feeney vs. Pat Elflein: I have Feeney as an early 2nd rounder (#39 Overall) while I think Elflein is just a guy (#103 Overall). Elflein on Mayock’s board is higher (#54) than Feeney (#56). Both have the versatility to play C or OG and should be taken early since this OL class isn’t very deep or talented. Both could be Day 1 starters if taken by needy franchises so it could be a comparison that is interesting right away.
  4. Kevin King vs. Gareon Conley: The battle of the #2 CBs. I have King as my #2 CB (#23 Overall) while Conley is my #8 CB (#47 Overall) while Mayock has Conley as his #2 CB (#11 Overall) and King as his #4 CB (#34 Overall). Mayock clearly loves rapists, the sick pervert.
  5. Chidobe Awuzie vs. Adoree Jackson: I had to do another CB comparison since this class is so deep at the position. Awuzie is barely not my #2 CB (#3 CB by one spot, #24 Overall) while Jackson is very overrated to me (#94 Overall). Mayock has Jackson as a fast riser, as to many in the media, with Jackson as his #22 Overall while he isn’t a huge fan of Awuzie (#40 Overall). I love me some Awuzie as he is my fourth favorite DB in this draft class (Budda Baker #1, Malik Hooker #2, Jamal Adams #3). Awuzie is an elite run stopper with incredibly strength, quickness and toughness. He doesn’t have great long speed and has poor hands but he looks like he’ll be an Antoine Winfield clone.
  6. Budda Baker vs. Jabrill Peppers: This isn’t the most clean comparison as I like Peppers (#4 S, #29 Overall)  and he likes Baker but I LOVE Baker, #3 S (#12 Overall) while he doesn’t (he has Baker #4 S, #31 Overall, Peppers as #3 S, #26 Overall). I think Baker could easily be a Top 5 player from this draft when the dust settles as his speed, quickness, big hits and playmaking ability make me drool. I SO wish the Cowboys would take him but am already resigned to the fact that they won’t. It just isn’t logical for them to do so. They need secondary help yes but when you rank the five positions in their secondary they need from most to least it goes 1) Strong Safety 2) Outside corner 3) Outside Corner 4) Slot Corner 5) Free Safety. He’s a free safety that can play the slot which are the only two areas the Cowboys seem to have adequately addressed with Byron Jones, Orlando Scandrick and Anthony Brown. Oh well, he won’t be a Cowboy next year. Moving on…
  7. Garrett Bolles vs. Ryan Ramczyk:
  8. Raekwon McMillan vs. Alex Anzalone:
  9. Jon Toth vs. Ethan Pocic:
  10. Zach Cunningham vs. Ryan Anderson:

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

