Skip to content

2019 NFL Draft: Day 2 Blog

April 26, 2019

This blog is done.

As a refresher, below are the remaining Cowboys most likely options. We have 26 picks to go before they are on the clock but so far 2 of 7 are already off the board.

  • Juan Thornhill, see above, he’s a late 1st rounder on my board and he’s the ball hawk safety this defense needs on the back end. Byron Jones and Chido both are good players but neither are ever going to be high INT guys so they need two playmaking safeties on the back end to make up for those weaknesses. A duo of Xavier Woods and Thornhill would give great versatility to the safety group and would increase the INT total immediately. This D is bordering on greatness. Adding turnover machines is the next step to making it great and Thornhill projects as such.
  • Taylor Rapp, an early 2nd rounder on my board, he’s one of my favorite players in this draft. Going into the Combine he was projected as a late 1st but ran a poor 40 and now there are rumors he drops to the 3rd round.I love Rapp and he immediately becomes my queued up “dream pick” if Thornhill is selected before #58. He doesn’t have great athleticism for a safety but he has the size and strength to actually play nickel linebacker so he’s an interesting guy and has the playmaking ability I want in my DBs.
  • Deonte Thompson, early 2nd rounder on my board, he for some reason has not been mentioned as much as the four safeties above but I think he’s a good fit for their D. He’s another playmaker on the back end, like Thornhill, and is what the Cowboys need so I’d like him at #58. I’d love Thornhill, would really like Rapp, but would be quite fine with Thompson. That’s my order with Savage then Abram bringing up the rear. Abram would by no means be a disaster by the way, it just isn’t my preferred safety as he’d be another DB with limited ball skills. Below are my disaster picks. 🙂
  • Zach Allen, late 3rd rounder on my board, I’m obviously strongly hoping he is not the pick at #58. I get why they like him as he’s a tweener DT/DE like Tyrone Crawford who might be playing his last year for the Cowboys. That being said he isn’t twitchy and won’t be a dominant pass rusher at either spot. I love his run stopping ability but he’s a guy I’d say was a solid (hardly great) pick in the late 3rd round so if he goes in the late 2nd I’d characterize it as a disaster.
  • Jaylon Ferguson, early 4th rounder on my board, he has a lower grade than Allen but I might be more comfortable with him at #58 as some scouts view him as a 1st rounder. I obviously do not but every scout views players differently so at least I’d feel comfortable knowing some scouts really love this guy. No one has a 1st round grade on Zach Allen, some do on Ferguson and the pass rush productivity is there with Jaylon. I see him being too tight and slow to be in the pros what he was in college but, again, some disagree with me so it’s a possibility he’s the pick and I’m just wrong (see Vander Esch last year).

Above are the most likely 5 but a few intriguing ideas to kick around are CB Justin Layne, LT Greg Little, and S Nasir Adderley. All had 1st round buzz on them and are available. I don’t see the Cowboys trading up for any of the three but if any fell to #58 I think it might change their mind. That being said the Cowboys are annoyingly pre-set on their draft plans usually and don’t see to go after the best available or the guy that drops so Nasir might be in play but the others likely won’t as I think they go safety if a Top 6 safety falls to them, the rest of the board be damned. Finally what about Greedy Williams? He is the one guy I’d move up for if I were the Cowboys. He’s a Top 10 grade on my board, Byron Jones is in a contract year, and they run a press cover system which he’d be great in. He could really make this D go from very good to great so if he falls a few more spots then maybe the Cowboys call someone to package #58 and #90 for Greedy. I’d love for them to be Greedy but it’s unlikely. Expect a safety at #58, a DL if no safety is available, or a trade down. I doubt any other options are very much in play.

Let the fun begin!

I am fully on the Juan Thornhill bandwagon folks so I will not be deviating from that dream. Ross and I discussed dream scenarios and Thornhill/Jace Sternberger/Andy Isabella as the 2nd/3rd/4th would be ideal. Swapping out Jace or Isabella for Jachai Polite or Keke Kingsley would also work well for me. Finally, I’m a huge fan of Greg Little and I think he falls to #58 as many didn’t like how soft he played at times. He’d be an ideal #3 OT in 2019, would likely play a lot as Tyron Smith seems to be hurt every year, and then could replace La’el Collins in 2020 on the cheap. That’s not an ideal scenario for 2019 but getting a stud RT for $2-3 mil a year from 2020-2022, who then becomes the replacement at LT for Tyron Smith, is the kind of long term planning that championship caliber teams do. It won’t happen but I’d be quite fine with that if all the safeties are gone.

33. Cardinals: Byron Murphy-I love the pick. I obviously would have gone Greedy Williams but he is a just different player as he’s shorter, more of a zone guy and more of an instincts guy. He is a versatile player with great ball skills and will fit their scheme. I had a 1st round grade on him so getting him in the early 2nd is a steal in my opinion.

34. Colts: Rock Ya-Sin-Well the DB run is officially underway. Some viewed Rock as the #1 CB in this draft. I did not. He is a developmental type from my scouting and is very tightly built so he was #136 on my board but I knew I was against the consensus on him. He’s a Seattle type corner as he’s big and physical but doesn’t move that well so it could work out for him in the right scheme. I’d love to know though why Greedy is dropping as his film the past two years was drastically better than Rock’s so it becomes more confusing by the pick. It has to be attitude, a failed drug test, etc. Something went wrong in the draft process we just don’t know about.

35. Raiders: Traded to Jaguars for 38 and 109 (gave back 35, 140, 235)

35: Jaguars: Jawaan Taylor-Another great pick as he was #23 on my board and I actually thought I rated him lower than the consensus as he was a Top 10 guy in a lot of mocks. He will be a MUCH better player than Kaleb McGary or Tytus Howard, both of whom went in the late 1st. Great pick. Also the Jaguars got a steal a few years ago in the early 2nd getting their LT (Cam Robinson) of the future. Robinson has been up and down but overall has been a solid starter so to pair him with another mauler type in Taylor gives more juice to this ground and pound style offense they have in Jacksonville.

36. 49ers: Deebo Samuel-Interesting pick. I heard a lot of chatter of the 49ers BEING OBSESSED with Deebo. He’s a hard evaluation as he has some RB playing WR type traits which is good and bad. He has great YAC, is a versatile playmaker, and has an extra gear in the open field. I wasn’t excited about some of his games as he had an amazing Clemson game and was the focal point of a mediocre offense so they force fed him the ball but he was invisible in a number of games and doesn’t run great routes. He’s that type of guy that needs trick stuff or bubble screens to get him the ball. He isn’t running great routes to get separation himself. He was #92 Overall on my board but many had late 1st round grades on him. In that offense with Kyle Shanahan and Garoppolo he’s dangerous to bet against but he has some very high bust potential. I would have gone AJ Brown if they didn’t want to take a roll of the dice on Butler or Metcalf.

37 Seahawks-Traded with Panthers for 47 and 77.

37. Panthers: Greg Little-I love this pick. Many didn’t like his film but I think he was just a guy that didn’t get good coaching, seems to be a pattern with Ole Miss players in this draft right so why not give him the benefit so many want to give Metcalf? He’s tall, he’s long, he has quick feet, and he is a mammoth of a man. I think he’s more talented but similar to Cam Robinson and is a more athletic, quicker guy so I saw him as a LT who could become a Pro Bowl caliber player. He’s raw but he was 2nd team SEC in 2017 and 1st Team in 2018 as a raw player so the ceiling is very high for him. Give him time to add weight/strength and work with a good coach and he could be a perennial Pro Bowler. I heard someone compare him to Ronnie Stanley. Ronnie is a very good starter who went at #6 in his draft. Little in the early 2nd is a steal. He was #18 on my board.

38. Raiders-Traded down again this time to the Bills for 40 and 158

One interesting thing so far I’ve seen in this 2nd round is the Raiders are trading down. I hated that they took 2-3 reaches (Jacobs wasn’t really a reach by a lot of people) in the 1st round when they should have traded down. Maybe Mayock is talking Gruden into trading down before making another reach. They want toughness. Mayock maybe can work the board better in Day 2 and get more value while getting those tough guys.

38. Bills: Cody Ford-I didn’t love him, #121 Overall on my board, but in the early 2nd I’m not as upset about it as I expected as many saw him as a mid to late 1st. My thing is his athleticism as he has elite strength but he moves very poorly and I just don’t see how he can possibly stay at RT. We shall see but him being an above average mauling OG is a possibility. Him being a Pro Bowl RT like some say he can be, to me is just laughable.

39. Bucs: Sean Bunting-I love Greedy but take Greedy off the board and I’m very happy about this pick. He’s an interesting guy as he has good height, great athleticism, and looks like a possible Pro Bowl press corner in a few years. He’s a raw guy but as a former WR he has ball skills and has a very high ceiling. It’s a little sad the Bucs didn’t reunite Devin White with Greedy Williams and just made their D all LSU Tigers but still this is a good pick.

Cowboys update: This is a best case scenario right now guys as no safeties have gone off the board after 7 picks. 18 picks left and 4 safeties still on the board.

40. Raiders: Trayveon Mullen-Read the update above as yes Greedy had a much better grade than Mullen but he has the size, length, and speed to be a very good starter. I didn’t see the ball skills or instincts I wanted for a star corner but he projects as a very good #2 CB and I had a late 1st round grade on him so almost mid 2nd is a very good pick.

10 Best Available for Joe with Broncos on the clock

First Name Last Name Position
Greedy Williams CB
Nasir Adderley S
Hakeem Butler WR
Jace Sternberger TE
Justin Layne CB
Will Grier QB
Mack Wilson LB
DK Metcalf WR
Juan Thornhill S
AJ Brown WR

41. Broncos: Dalton Risner-He was #46 Overall and I love his film so I really like this pick. He’s a tough as nails RT who allowed 1 sack in 4 years and was PFF’s 1st Team All-American in 2017 and 2018. He doesn’t have great athleticism but he’s a physical mauler type and has much better athleticism than Cody Ford while having the same type of attitude. Good value, great fit as this is the type of guy that might allow the Broncos to use Freeman to his full potential and be more of a grinding offense with the deep balls to Sutton.

42. Bengals-Trade to Broncos for 52, 125, 182

42. Broncos: Drew Lock-I am not a fan of Lock but at #42 I don’t have a major problem with it. He has elite arm strength and a very high ceiling but I just don’t see it ever fully translating for him and think he’s exactly the “toolsy prospect who doesn’t play the position very well” that got him in trouble with Paxton Lynch. Very different players but both looked extra raw, had questionable accuracy, and didn’t seem to process the game very quickly.

Oh and Todd McShay loves him. Yeah he’s a bust.

43. Lions: Jahlani Tavai-And my cherry was broken. He is the first guy I didn’t scout. A little disappointed I only made it to the mid 2nd but honestly Tavai was not the guy I thought would do it. Oh well, get your analysis somewhere else for Tavai.

44. Packers: Elton Jenkins-Interesting that they said OG not C. He was my #99 Overall so it’s a reach but I thought he had the traits to be a starter I just thought he was a bit raw and weak. Give him a year to build his strength and I think he’s a starter so again it’s a reach but not a terrible pick.

45. Rams: Trade pick to Patriots for 56 and 101

45. Patriots: JoeJuan Williams-I like his film and he is a big corner but he was #68 on my board so a slight reach. I heard a few teams had a late 1st grade on him but at this spot it makes a lot of sense. He just needs better hands but guys with his size and experience are rare so he’s okay value but a good fit.

Cowboys Update: This is getting exciting as we are down to 13 picks and all four safeties are still on the board. 3-5 picks more without a safety taken and it’s almost guaranteed one drops to #58 as they could have a run but four won’t go in 6 picks or something crazy.

46. Browns: Greedy Williams-Best pick in the draft to this point. He and Denzel Ward could make things impossible for AFC teams passing on them, especially when you realize Myles Garrett is coming fast at you. I love this pick as it is amazing value (#7 on my board) but it’s also a good fit. I said before that he’d be best in a scheme that let him gamble a bit. With Ward locking someone on one side they can move the safety over to Williams side and having help on the back end will allow him to gamble. It could be a really amazing defense in a few years if Greedy dominates.

47. Seahawks: Marquise Blair-Another terrible pick in my opinion for the Seahawks as he was #158 Overall on my board. I get that the Seahawks and I couldn’t be less similar in how we evaluate players but really Blair is a better safety than Rapp, Thornhill, Adderley, or Thompson? I just don’t believe it and think in 3 years you could read this statement and see that I was 100% correct, they chose Blair over 1-4 MUCH better safeties.

48. Saints: Eric McCoy-He was a mid 3rd rounder on my board but some had a late 1st so it makes sense here. He had good film and he’s an Aggie so I like the pick and know that some LOVE it.

49. Colts: Ben Banogu-I like this pick as he’s a super athletic 3-4 OLB with decent pass rush skills but looks better as a guy who can drop and cover and projects as that great #2 pass rusher who does a little of everything. He was ranked #50 Overall on my board and I thought he would be that guy who was sneaky good his whole career. He won’t get you 15 sacks a year but he’ll get you 6-10 while giving great coverage, making your defense more versatile, and being good against the run. Again he’s that perfect complement to a dominant pass rusher and I am a big fan of his. Great pick, great fit as he and Leonard are just physical freaks who can do anything. They will be a difficult team to play against as they will be so multiple.

50. Vikings: Irv Smith-Another good pick as he was #47 on my board and is fast, physical, and can move anywhere. He’s a chess piece for an offense and can play FB, TE, or even slot receiver. I really liked his film as a move blocker as he showed good pop and a team like the 49ers who use their FB a lot I thought would be interested. I’ll be curious to see how the Vikings use him but he’s a great #2 TE as Rudolph is the traditional in-line TE and he’s the move guy. Great pick, great fit.

Cowboys Update: Well it’s official the Cowboys are taking a safety at #58!!!! I’d be stunned if four guys go in the next 7 picks so it’s basically a done deal!

51. Titans: AJ Brown-I love this pick as he was #31 on my board and had a very similar grade to N’Keal Harry who went #32. Unsure on the fit here as Mariota is a question mark and they have a lot of wideouts already but he’s great value.

52. Bengals: Drew Sample-He is the #2 prospect I didn’t scout. Very surprised Sample went ahead of Jace Sternberger. I think that will come back to haunt the Bengals who really need a TE with the healthy issues Tyler Eifert has had over the years.

53. Eagles: Miles Sanders-Oooh that’s interesting for a lot of reasons. One is that the Eagles already seem stacked at RB. Two is that he has the highest ceiling of any RB in this class IMO as he’s much softer, has a fumble issue, and is a bit raw vs. Jacobs but he has rare athleticism and could be a very good receiver while Jacobs looks like just a check down target.

54. Texans: Lonnie Johnson-He was #129 on my board as he’s a big guy who is raw with a high ceiling but in the late 2nd it’s a reach. Tytus Howard now Lonnie Johnson as 1/2 is a terrible duo of picks as those are both Day 3 guys. I don’t see their plan right now.

55. Texans: Max Scharping-Wow the Texans are going DEEP in their evaluations for 1st and 2nd round picks. That being said Scharping and Emanuel Hall were my two sleepers in this draft so maybe it’s a reach, maybe I’m vindicated? I don’t know. I love his film though and had #71 Overall on my board. It’s odd to say he’s a reach as I was telling everyone he’s my pick for the sleeper of this draft but I just don’t think he was a risk of being taken till the mid 3rd at the earliest so it has to be a reach right? The Texans watched the Giants and Raiders struggle Day 1 with one reach after the other and got competitive, “hold my beer.”

Cowboys Update: With 2 picks to go, here is my Top 20 available

First Name Last Name Position
Nasir Adderley S
Hakeem Butler WR
Jace Sternberger TE
Justin Layne CB
Will Grier QB
Mack Wilson LB
DK Metcalf WR
Juan Thornhill S
Christian Miller EDGE
Jachai Polite EDGE
Taylor Rapp S
Deionte Thompson S
Emanuel Hall WR
Andy Isabella WR
Michael Deiter OG
Blake Cashman LB
JJ Arcega-Whiteside WR
Amani Oruwariye CB
DreMont Jones DT
Miles Boykin WR

56. Rams: Trade to Chiefs for 61 and 167

56. Chiefs: Mecole Hardman-Interesting as he was #148 on my board BUT he has great speed and has a little poor man’s Tyreek Hill to his game. It’s still a big reach to me, especially with DK Metcalf and others on the board. To me they should have taken Justin Layne as adding a good CB along with DE Frank Clark would be putting that franchise on the path toward repeated long runs in January.

Damn it are the Eagles going to steal a favorite player of mine back to back years? I loved Goedert last year and they took him 1 spot before Connor Williams. If they get Nasir or Thornhill I’ll be livid. That being said they can’t take both so the Cowboys might just be sitting pretty with ALL FOUR SAFETIES AVAILABLE at #58. I never thought this would happen.

57. Eagles: JJ Arcega-Whiteside-I like the pick (#51 Overall) as he projects as a great red zone WR but also has underrated route running ability. He’s a good athlete and I really liked his film so he makes a ton of sense here.

Alright guys, the dream scenario occurred. Nasir is available, Juan Thornhill is available, and Rapp is available. Yes Thompson is too but he’s lower on the Cowboys board than these three so he’s out of the running. I think Thornhill is the pick but I don’t think they expected Nasir to be here so who knows. Either way, this is a steal at #58 as both are 1st rounders on my board AND fill a need.

58. Cowboys: Trysten Hill-I want to kill someone! Okay okay. With all four available maybe they trade up from 90 for one of the safeties but oh wow this is disappointing. Well he was in the running but I heard Zach Allen as the favored player vs. Hill so it surprises me for a lot of reasons. Nasir was #10 on my board, Thornhill was #30, and Hill was #173 so I am devastated. Time to start drinking heavily while you read his bio below:

Trysten Hill UCF 6’2 ¾ 308 Jr. He ran a 5.04 40, 28 reps, ‘35 vertical (elite), 9’7 broad, 4.38 shuttle (elite), and 7.70 3 cone. He was above average to elite in all categories and had good arm length (‘33 ⅜), and great hand size (‘10 ¼) so he aced his Combine test. He had two very mediocre years in 2016 (15 tackles, 1 sack, 5 TFL) and 2017 (20 tackles, 2 sacks, 4 TFL), a good year in 2018 (36 tackles, 3 sacks, 10.5 TFL) and then surprisingly left early. A poor choice in my opinion as he isn’t an elite prospect and this is a very good and deep DT class. He looks the part of an NFL DT though with good muscle tone, a svelte thinner frame with obvious strength, and good athleticism. He’s an aggressive player who likes to battle. He’s a bit of a hot head and seems a tad out of control most of the time. He doesn’t seem to react quickly to plays and is usually a step behind the action. Watching the 2018 Temple game he battled hard but rarely did much of anything and always seemed to be near the action but not really involved. He’s an NFL athlete and should make a roster due to that but I think we’re looking at a career backup who underwhelms. He doesn’t play with good technique, can get pushed off the ball at times, and seems to struggle in the “kill zone” when he has a chance to take down a QB or ballcarrier. Too many red flags for me to want before the late rounds but he’ll likely go in the mid rounds due to his athleticism. Late 5th round as my #17 DT who I see as a career backup/rotation DT 3/22/19.

59. Colts: Parris Campbell-He was #96 overall on my board so it’s a reach for me but some had a late 1st on him and he’s an elite athlete who just was added to Andrew Luck’s arsenal so I’m not betting against him. I would just say he did jack squat until Dwayne Haskins came on the scene and he’s another guy who can’t run routes but you have to scheme to get him the ball. I’m not as big of a fan of those guys so he dropped for me but some love him.

60. Chargers: Nasir Adderley-Fuck you Chargers you just drafted the guy who might have been my next jersey! Oh the wound hurts even more that Nasir only lasted 1 pick after the Cowboys passed on him.

61. Rams: Taylor Rapp-Great pick. He was #38 overall and one of the top available so this is great value and a great fit. The Rams have a dominant offense but are quickly getting into salary cap hell so they need cheap starters and you can get them on Day 2. Rapp is one of those as he’ll be an immediate starter at SS and can play nickel LB too so he can stay on the field the entire game and projects as a playmaker and a leader. One of the better value/fits in this 2nd round.

62. Cardinals: Andy Isabella-Fuck that’s a great pick. Good value (#41 Overall) and great fit as he and Murray will be a match made in heaven. This franchise is quickly becoming interesting. I’ll watch a noon game with the Murray and Isabella playing the Rams or Seahawks.

Can I just pause and say how angry I’m getting as the Cowboys take a massive reach at #58 and then Nasir, Rapp, and Andy go in 3 of the next 4 picks! That’s like 3 of my 10 favorite players in this draft. Are the draft gods against me or something?

63. Chiefs: Juan Thornhill-Okay first F this, second….(deep breath) this is an amazing pick. He was a late 1st on my board so getting him in the late 2nd is a steal and just like I talked about the Rams needing to find cheap starter and playmakers to complement their great offense which is quickly becoming expensive this is a great strategy. Thornhill will create turnovers. I’d love to track Thornhill’s turnovers the next few years vs. Jeff Heath but it really isn’t fair. He projects as a ballhawk as the converted corner has rare athleticism, ball skills, and the versatility to play CF but also cover less physical TEs like oh I don’t know Zach Ertz and Evan Engram. I really wanted Juan for the Cowboys so I’ll admit, this hurts.

64. Seahawks: DK Metcalf-It’s funny I thought he’d be the pick when thinking of who makes sense for the Seahawks, I just thought he’d be the pick in the late 1st/early 2nd not 64th. I think this could work as Russell throws a great deep ball and they are a run oriented offense so he won’t have to be a 100 reception guy to be successful in this offense. I said it before in his bio that he won’t be a #1 WR so people will say he’s a bust but he has the ability to be a great Y receiver like Paul Richardson was for them for years. He’ll be a 50 800 8 TD type guy and that’s a good pick as a late 2nd. Great value.

65. Cardinals: Zach Allen-Another possible Cowboys pick who goes right after #58 but I’m fine with that as Allen seems like a great 4th rounder as he’ll be a hustle guy who does well against the run and gives it his all. He won’t be a 10 sack guy and I didn’t see the athleticism to make him more than a low end starter/great rotation guy so he was a late 3rd rounder on my board.

66. Steelers: Diontae Johnson-He was #87 on my board so decent value but I thought I was higher on him than most and expected him in the mid rounds. He has great routes, separates well, and has some special teams ability so he makes sense but Hakeem Butler with Ben Roethlisberger would be special so I’m a little disappointed.

67. 49ers: Jalen Hurd-I knew who he was as a RB at Tennessee but he didn’t make my list at WR so I didn’t scout him. I probably should have as I expected him to go earlier than 5th round, not 2nd but still.

Nick Mangold looks like a homeless guy who was just given a suit.

68. Jets: Jachai Polite-He is a steal here as I had him #38 Overall as his film was 1st round worthy. He had the worst draft process of any player, maybe Jeffrey Simmons has something to say about it, but he’s heavy handed, super productive, and showed a good ability to use his hands and almost dodge OL arms like a boxer would to get a crease and put pressure on the QB. He had impressive film so I kept a higher grade on him than most who bailed on him due to his poor measurables. Great pick.

69. Jaguars: Josh Oliver-A decent pick (#100 on my board) but Oliver over Jace? I don’t see it. Oliver has some starter traits though and I know few like Caleb Wilson like I do so Oliver, Knox, and Jace all were in this next tier.

70. Rams: Darrell Henderson-Confusing but I’m intrigued. I thought the Rams would either go OL, TE, or focus on D but instead go RB? Henderson though has a high ceiling and he has some red flags to his game but he can really fly AND has the size to handle the inside runs too. ESPN just made the comparison of him to Tevin Coleman and I really like that. He’s definitely a one speed, one cut RB and I don’t love those but Henderson in the Rams offense is well intriguing.

71. Broncos; Dremont Jones-I mentioned in a text thread I would have been okay with the Cowboys going DT at #58 if it was Jones instead of Hill as I really like his ceiling. He is a bad run stopper but has a great burst and can rush the passer from the inside which as anyone who reads my blog knows I highly value in my DTs. He has bust potential but I could see some 6-10 sack seasons from him which is Pro Bowl caliber so he’s very boom/bust. At 71 (he was #53 overall on my board) he’s a borderline steal.

72. Bengals: Jermaine Pratt-Good pick as he was #76 on my board and is a bigger 3-4 ILB so he really fits well in their scheme.

73. Bears: David Montgomery-He’s a fun player to scout as he made more missed tackles than any other running back in college each of the past two years. He’s going to be a great fit in Nagy’s offense teaming with Tarik Cohen. I like the value, LOVE the fit and I now understand why the Bears traded up so aggressively…more details below.

74. Bills: Devin Singletary-The RB run continues. The Bears traded up from 87 to 73 and gave 162, a 6th this year, and a 4th next year so a lot to move up 14 picks in the 3rd. I think it’s because they knew the Bills were taking a RB and wanted to jump them for David. Devin was lower on my board but not by a lot. I loved his red zone production, his body control, and his quickness. Both are natural runners without that long speed you want but I like both RBs at this spot in the draft.

75. Packers: Jace Sternberger-Might be the best pick in Round 3. He was #17 on my board and they got him at #75. Not only that but he’s a great fit as the Packers have had a revolving door of TEs with Cook, Bennett, and now the on his last leg Jimmy Graham. Jace will put Graham out to pasture in 2020 and will take over the job next year after a year of being an understudy. He has good routes, great hands, and a smooth athleticism that makes me think he’s a Zach Ertz type. I really loved Jace’s tape and is why I put a higher grade on him than anyone else I saw.

76. Redskins: Terry McLaurin-He was #126 on my board so I think it’s a reach but some loved this kid. He was a one year wonder but runs good routes and has great athleticism so some think he’s underrated and is just scratching the surface. To me he’s a glorified #4 WR with a chance to be a #2 but I doubt he ever does.

77. Patriots: Chase Winovich-A good pick as he was #65 on my board and is the Patriots type of player as he’s an all hustle team player with a good burst who easily could become the next Trey Flowers who comes out of nowhere to become a very good player that another team overpays. The Patriots are winners for a reason and getting a good starter at an expensive position like DE in the mid 3rd is a good example of cap management.

78. Dolphins: Michael Deiter-A steal here as he was #43 on my board and the #1 OG ahead of Cody Ford. He’s a consistent guy, he gets a good push, and has steady film. He was rarely beat and just looks like that 8-10 year starter for someone that never makes a Pro Bowl but is an above average starter for a long time. In the mid 3rd that’s a steal.

79. Rams: David Long-He was #58 on my board so it’s a steal here. For the Rams to get Taylor Rapp and David Long in back to back picks is outstanding. I project in nickel for both of those guys to be on the field this year and Rapp is the playmaker while Long is the steady starter who won’t get beat. He doesn’t have the ball skills or size you want in a corner but he’ll be a good slot corner who plays great man coverage. Think Jourdan Lewis when he came out of Michigan too. Great pick for the 3rd round.

80.  Browns: Sione Takitaki-Never heard of him.

81. Vikings: Trade pick to Lions for 88 and 204

81. Lions: Will Harris-Not on my board

82. Titans: Nate Davis-He’s a raw, physical guy who could develop into a mauler. I had a late round grade on him (6th round, #175) but some saw him as better than I did and everyone agrees he’s a guy that needs to sit a year. A small school guy with starter traits, it’ll be a few years before he’ll be determined as a steal or a bust. Likely no in between with him.

83. Steelers: Justin Layne-An absolute steal at #83, he was #2 available on my board and #19 Overall so I had him as a 1st rounder. I saw a big, long corner with MUCH better film than JoeJuan Williams who went 40 picks earlier to the Patriots. I don’t think if the Patriots took Layne at #32 instead of DeAndre Baker that anyone would have even blinked so him at #83 is amazing value. Right up with Jace Sternberger and Nasir Adderley and Greedy Williams as the best picks of Day 2.

Cowboys update: With the Cowboys on the clock in 6 picks here is my Top 20 available:

First Name Last Name Position
Hakeem Butler WR
Will Grier QB
Mack Wilson LB
Christian Miller EDGE
Deionte Thompson S
Emanuel Hall WR
Blake Cashman LB
Amani Oruwariye CB
Miles Boykin WR
Kelvin Harmon WR
Caleb Wilson TE
Bobby Okereke LB
Martez Ivey OT
Gary Jennings Jr. WR
Kaden Smith TE
Damien Harris RB
Khalen Saunders DT
Dexter Williams RB
Terry Beckner Jr. DT
Chauncey Gardener-Johnson S

There are two safeties in that Top 20 and Deonte Thompson would be a steal at #90. Also there are a ton of WRs in that Top 20 so if they see that as a need there should be someone available who presents great value.

84. Chiefs: Khalen Saunders-The Chiefs just took at #84 a DT I had a much higher grade on than the Cowboys selection at #58…still so pissed at that spot. Saunders has great athleticism and has some interesting film. He’s a small school kid who had to do a lot of heavy lifting but he has a high ceiling and could be a long time starter if he develops like I think he can. Good pick, he’s underrated.

85. Ravens: Jaylon Ferguson-That kid does not have a future in broadcasting….Jaylon was in play at #58 per a lot of sources so I think it’s interesting to see him available till #85. It also might shed some light on the Cowboys issues in this draft as they seem to be focusing on guys other teams aren’t. Not a great sign. Ferguson was not a great prospect in my eyes despite his elite production. He’s tall, long, and strong but he is VERY tight and is very slow. I don’t see him being a 4-3 DE or 3-4 OLB so I think he maybe goes as a 3-4 DE. That would make some sense so curious how they use him.

86. Texans: Kahale Warring-Never heard of him. Cool that he was a water polo goalie.

87. Patriots: Damien Harris-Interesting selection as he was #69 on my board so great value and a good fit as Harris is a complete back who is good at everything. He doesn’t have the physicality of Jacobs or the athleticism of Miles Sanders but Damien is a more natural runner than either of them and Saban said he has the best vision of any RB he’s ever coached. Not surprised Bill took Saban’s advice and took Harris here.

88. Seahawks: Cody Barton:  He was not on my list.

Mel Kiper has Deonte Thompson as his best available. Come on Cowboys, make up for the terrible pick at #58!

89. Colts: Bobby Okereke-I loved Pat McAfee’s bits and I love this pick. He was #57 Overall on my board so he’s a steal here. He has incredibly long arms, has great quickness, and projects at worst as a nickel linebacker. I think he has the strength and toughness to be a full time starter though and I really loved his tape. I am not surprised he went later than I had him at but I think he’ll be a good starter and is another great pick by the Colts who are really drafting well lately.

90. Cowboys: Connor McGovern-It’s a solid choice and could upgrade from solid to very good. It’s not a steal like Deonte Thompson, Hakeem Butler, or Christian Miller all of which made a lot of sense but McGovern was #81 on my board as an early 3rd rounder so getting him in the late 3rd is good value. He had nice film and I was impressed with his measurables but didn’t think he really played up to them at times. He had good polish though and I think he could start this year so he adds to an OL which honestly could use some bodies with Tyron Smith hurt so often, Frederick’s health issues, Connor Williams struggles as a rookie, and La’el Collins impending free agency. Below is his profile.

Connor McGovern Penn State 6’5 ⅜ 308 Jr. He didn’t run but had 28 reps, a 9’4 broad, 4.57 shuttle (elite), and 7.66 3 cone (elite). He’s an interesting evaluation as his measurables had me expecting an elite athlete and he isn’t that but he has decent lateral agility and speed to go along with above average strength. My favorite part of his game is his technique as he locks on to defenders and sticks with them throughout a play. Most of his pancakes come from riding them to the ground instead of through just sheer force. Considering he’s an underclassman, his technique is even more impressive. He doesn’t have the athleticism or strength to be a Pro Bowler but he should grade out very well by PFF and analytics teams will likely prefer him over more talented players. He just gets the job done and looks incredibly poised in his assignments. His 2018 Michigan film is spotless which was a tall order vs. arguably the best front seven in college football. A lower upside, highly polished player with NFL strength and athleticism. He should be an above average starter for a long time. Early 3rd round as my #3 OG 3/12/19.

91. Chargers: Trey Pipkins-Some loved him at the East-West Shrine game but I was unimpressed with his film and saw him as a very raw project type. He was a late rounder to me but some love his tools.

92. Jets: Chuma Edoga-He was #140 on my board but not a bad pick here as he has some Charles Leno to his game as a smooth, undersized OT who might stay at OT or move inside to OG. He was inconsistent on film at times but he has starter traits. Some viewed him as a 3rd, I had a 4th so this was his range.

93. Ravens: Miles Boykin-This kid intrigues the hell out of me so I bookmarked him as keeping tabs on his career. He has some Michael Floyd to him as he’s a big, strong, speedy WR. He does not play physically like his size would indicate and is incredibly raw but it wouldn’t shock me if 3 years from now he’s a 1,000 yard receiver. He’s very boom/bust but his ceiling is very high. One to watch down the road, especially in dynasty formats.

94. Bucs: Jamel Dean-He was #156 on my board so a reach but honestly some had him even higher than this. His Combine was insane and 1st round caliber but he didn’t play up to his measurables and I didn’t like how tight he was.

95. Giants: Oshane Ximines-He was #89 on my board so good value and he’s that guy that you don’t fully know what to do with but know he has NFL talent and has the potential to be productive. He flashes with some wow plays and I was interested on him as a high ceiling project type. I rarely give project types this high of a grade so I was interested in him.

96. Bills: Dawson Knox-Another pick of the Bills where they take a unique talent. He reminds me of Jordan Reed, some compared him to a poor man’s Travis Kelce. Either way he shows great quickness and agility as almost a “big slot” in that offense, don’t expect good blocking from him, and works as a team’s #2 “move TE.”

97. Rams: Bobby Evans-He was the LT for the Sooners but projects as an OG, has long arms and is strong. I liked Evans film more than Cody Ford and had a late 3rd round grade on him so it makes perfect sense here.

98. Jaguars: Quincy Williams-Never heard of him.

99. Bucs: Mike Edwards-Ranked #139 on my board but I enjoyed his film so he’s a decent value here. He is a playmaker and wasn’t the fastest or most athletic guy but a good #3 S and special teamer who maybe becomes a solid starter down the road. He’s a low ceiling guy and maybe a round early but again he makes some sense here as he’s a guy who you know what you’re getting. Sometimes lower upside, sure prospects are the way to go in the middle rounds as it quickly builds your depth.

100. Panthers: Will Grier-Watch your back Cam Newton!!! Just kidding but still I love this kid. He was #20 on my board and I firmly believe he has starter talent. I really think he has the accuracy, willingness to pull the trigger on tough throws, throws an amazing deep ball (reminds me a bit of Philip Rivers or Nick Foles due to the elite touch on his deep ball), and is the gunslinger I like in my QBs. If I were a GM needing a QB it would have been basically a two QB draft, I’d go hard for Murray or drop to the late 2nd/early 3rd and grab Grier knowing he’d be super cheap for 4 years. I honestly think he could be an above average Top 20 NFL starter due to his toughness, great deep ball, and good accuracy. He’s a steal and I look forward to seeing what Norv Turner does with him.

101. Patriots: Yodny Cajuste-I like this pick. He was #85 on my board and was on that OG/RT bubble. In either spot he’s physical, has decent athleticism, and is aggressive. I like my OL being physical and aggressive so I leaned more toward him than others. He has spotty film but it wouldn’t surprise me if he stays at RT and becomes a decent starter as Brady is so quick in his reads they put less pressure on their OTs than other schemes do. Good pick.

102. Vikings: Alexander Mattison-Never heard of him.

Instant analysis: I’m not going to mince words, tonight fucking blew. The Cowboys had an amazing scenario fall into their lap as a perceived weakness on their roster (safety) somehow had 2-5 (depending on which scout’s board you went by) very good, starting caliber safeties drop to them at #58. I say drop because there was a lot of chatter about the Cowboys maybe needing to sacrifice their #90 to move up or at least one of their 4ths to move up a few spots as it was unlikely guys like Taylor Rapp, Juan Thornhill, Johnathan Abram, Nasir Adderley, and Darnell Savage made it to the last 2nd round. For 3 of those 5 guys to make it was a golden opportunity and they chose Trysten Hill? When he was selected he was the #11 DT AVAILABLE on my board. I would have been unhappy going off safety but understood if they had gone Dremont Jones, Khalen Saunders, Keke Kingsley, or even Zach Allen who had a lot of rumors himself. Hill did not impress me so I just hope I’m wrong. Last year I was wrong on Leighton Vander Esch, two years ago I wasn’t wrong on Taco. This feels very much like a Taco moment but we shall see. Then the Cowboys followed it up with a good, solid selection with OG Connor McGovern. He was my #3 OG in this draft, ahead of Kaleb McGary (#6) who went in the 1st round and Cody Ford (#8) who went in the 2nd. My OG grades are notoriously different from the consensus but I think honestly it’s because I actually scout it and a lot of people mail it in on OGs and just go with the consensus. Also I believe mauler run heavy OGs aren’t a great fit in today’s passing NFL and is why Ford dropped on my board as even at OG I worry about his athleticism. McGovern is a good, solid player who has dependable 8 year starter written all over him. I have no issues with that pick but combined with Trysten Hill and no 1st it makes me wonder if we’ll have any real impact players from this 2019 draft or if this is another 2009 NFL Draft where 4 years later no one is re-signed and they were all bit players and backups. I can’t tell you how disappointed I am that the Cowboys didn’t select Nasir or Juan. Both project as good players with Nasir being the better talent and Juan being the better fit. I also think it made a lot of sense for the Cowboys to package #90 to move up for Greedy Williams (#7 on my board) when he kept falling and the Patriots trade up from 56 to 46 for only their late 3rd (101) means a 58 and 90 would have been enough ammunition to move up and get him as it’s basically the exact same trade. This isn’t hindsight 20/20, I was stating this in my intro of the blog earlier today. When elite players drop, good franchises make moves to sweep them up and the Cowboys pre-set drafting strategy eliminates those opportunities. It lowers your ceiling, if we want to use drafting terminology, and I wish the Cowboys didn’t adhere to it. No one expected DT and OG as the 2nd and 3rd round picks but everyone knew it was either S or DT at #58. It eliminates the potential to snag that steal which can really boost a franchise (see Vikings take Randy Moss while they already had Chris Carter and Jake Reed as a great example). Also strategically I think they should have gone safety over DT as this DT class is much deeper than the safety class AND Rod Marinelli has a knack for getting production out of no name DTs so why not stick to that strategy and moneyball the DT position? The Cowboys have two picks in the 4th round and if they grab a couple more good values like Connor McGovern then this draft can be salvaged but it was SO CLOSE to being a great draft if they had just taken Nasir or Juan so I’ll be reading up tonight about why they sidestepped that seemingly preferred strategy. Goodnight readers, we were so close. You felt it didn’t you?….I swear I was going to buy a Nasir Adderley jersey.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment