Skip to content

2019 NFL Draft: Day 3 Live Blog

April 27, 2019

Alright here we go. Just as a quick recap of last night, the safety position was not addressed but DT and OG were. Word is that they view Connor Williams their 2020 RT so Connor McGovern will be a backup OG in 2019 (also can play center if Travis Frederick doesn’t come back fully healthy), and then will start at OG in 2020 with Williams at RT. That makes a lot of sense. Also word is that the #58 selection came down to two guys, Trysten Hill and….Juan Thornhill. Salt in the wound but let’s get going with Day 3. I’ll have a full Cowboys recap tonight or tomorrow and will discuss those picks in greater detail.

103. Cardinals: Hakeem Butler-Well that was fast. He was the #1 available on my board and was a mid 1st on my board so it’s a massive steal. Also putting him with Kyler Murray who can throw guys open is a perfect fit. I’m telling you guys, Isabella and Butler are perfect complements to each other and is a really great fit. Butler has the potential to be a perennial double digit TD threat. He is Plaxico Burress and I loved his film.

104. Bengals: Ryan Finley-He was #138 on my board so not a steal for me but some had a 2nd or 3rd round grade on him and the Bengals desperately need to develop competition with Dalton so this pick makes a ton of sense. I didn’t like his arm strength and the fact that he’s an older prospect who never really dominated despite being 24 and having been in college 6 years. Add in the fact he had two NFL caliber receivers who really made his reads easy and I just saw career backup. McShay loved him. I’m even more confident in my later grade. Seriously though, good pick here value wise and great pick fit wise.

McShay getting defensive about Finley when Kiper and others ganged up on him. Love it! I really wish the NFL Draft allowed more debate. Why can’t one guy say this pick sucks after the other guy saying this pick was great? Half of these picks are going to not work out yet there’s this kids gloves treatment of team’s. Oh Daniel Jones at 6 Overall. Well that was Gettleman’s guy so I like the conviction. Fuck off, the Giants could have Sam Darnold and Josh Allen and Odell Beckham but now have Daniel Jones, Saquon Barkley, and Dexter Lawrence. That’s a HORRIBLE TRADE! Let’s just be honest and provide analysis. The truth hurts sometimes but we want analysis. Give it to us.

105. Saints: Chaundery Gardner-Johnson-Good pick as he was #74 Overall on my board and some had him even higher. I saw a few late 1st/early 2nd grades on him as some loved how he could play FS and then come down and be a true slot corner. I wasn’t as high on him as my “Big 6” I’ve been advertising for Cowboys fans but with 5 of them gone (Deionte Thompson last left) it’s a great value here. The Saints have slowly gone from one of the worst drafting teams to one of the best in the past 5 years. Very interesting.

106. Raiders: Maxx Crosby-The reaches continue for Mayock and Gruden which is sad. I had a 5th round grade as a developmental DE. He has a rare frame but is undersized and isn’t extremely athletic. He tested well so if you go more off measurements than tape you like him more than me but I saw a guy who had starter traits who can’t start for at least 2 years and has a very high bust potential.

107. Bucs: Anthony Nelson-He barely didn’t make my list but was on my supplemental list to add if I had time, I did not. He is a good value here but I didn’t do a full scouting of him but some really liked him as a 3rd round grade and others had more of a 5-7 round grade which is why he missed my first sweep of prospects.

108. Giants: Julian Love-He was #90 on my board so good value and about time the Giants made a value pick. He projects as a slot corner due to his lack of size but he had good film and was a poor man’s David Long who went MUCH earlier in the draft. I had a higher grade on Long too but Love is a similar prospect in terms of film, size issues, and fit as a slot corner. Good pick.

111. Falcons: Kendall Sheffield-I love this pick (#88 on my board) and might be the first Falcons pick I like. He has low ceiling starter potential and is that consummate #2 corner which all teams need. Getting him in the 4th is a steal. He has some zone potential or off man and teamed with Isaiah Oliver they’ll battle for Robert Alford’s departed spot across from former 1st rounder Desmond Trufant. Sheffield likely is the #3 CB next year and is another good, cheap DB for that defense which is quickly accumulating them.

Cowboys Update: They have picks 129 and 137 so they are about 15 spots out. Deionte Thompson is still available. I’d move up as a lot of the “top” guys have now gone but that’s not the Cowboys way anymore as trader Jerry has been put out to pasture. Hopefully he’s on the board at #129 but honestly they might not even take him if he is as I never heard rumors of them being interested. I think he’s a great fit for the back end and what the Cowboys need, ballhawks.

113. Ravens: Justice Hill-Bryce Love went a pick earlier and is worth commenting a bit but a torn ACL means he won’t play in 2019. Hill on the other hand has all the breakaway speed Love does and is a better inside runner. I like this pick a lot (#123 on my board) as it’s reasonable value but more importantly a great fit. The Ravens are clearly moneyballing the RB position with Kenneth Dixon, Alex Collins, and others so Hill has the chance to make an inordinate amount of impact on this roster. Hill probably is a change of pace back but Dixon/Collins don’t scare anyone so he could be a sleeper to start later in Year 1 or Year 2. (Update: Didn’t know Mark Ingram signed here so less of an easy pickings starting job but still, Hill has talent and is the speedster that Ingram isn’t so I still love the fit).

114. Vikings: Dru Samia-I followed Vikings analysts on twitter and they raved about Bradbury’s selection in the first round and were hoping Samia would be next. I love both selections (Samia was #80 so great value) as they are perfect complements to each other. Both are more athletic types who fit best in zone schemes. The Vikings now have two very athletic, versatile interior OL and if they scheme it correctly they could turn their biggest weakness into a strength in just one draft. Don’t sleep on the Vikings. I hate Cousins too but that roster is stacked.

115. Panthers: Christian Miller-Well my best available at the top is getting picked clean. He was #36 so an absolute steal at this point. It surprises me he dropped out of Day 2 but I knew I was higher on him than some. I see him being a great 3-4 OLB or good 4-3 WDE who focuses on the speed rush. He is an incomplete player with inconsistent film but he has some “1st round reps” I call it as those wow plays where he bends the edge and shoots out of his stance for a 3 second sack. I took note of that and to get him in the 4th is a massive steal. He and Hakeem Butler are the best Day 3 values so far.

116. Titans: Amani Hooker-The Titans got themselves a hooker! He was #120 on my board so good value and I was lower on him than others. Hooker was in that next tier of safeties which is now coming off the board. Still surprised Hooker goes ahead of Thompson but he has good film and teams that like the Iowa safety types (think Micah Hyde) who are tightly built but good hitters and guys with toughness and good ball skills, will like Hooker.

117. Lions: Austin Bryant-He was #79 on my board and I loved his film and potential. He has a narrow frame, long arms, and a burst which makes me think he could be a good 4-3 WDE. Most disagreed and had him as a mid to late rounder which I didn’t get. He’s one I was very high on vs. the consensus so this is a steal for me, a decent pick for others.

120. Seahawks: Gary Jennings Jr.-He was one of “my guys” so it’s shocking he went to the Seahawks. Honestly don’t sleep on this kid as he is a very athletic, quick guy who is the opposite of 2nd round DK Metcalf. I loved his film as in 2017 he was a 100 catch guy (2nd in the nation in receptions) and in 2018 he was a big play deep threat. He can do it all and I never understood why he didn’t move up the charts more. He, Hall, Diontae Johnson, and Isabella were my sleepers in this year’s class as all went 3rd round or later (Hall still on the board) yet all could be starters in 2 years. Great pick for the Seahawks. Did I just say that?

122. Steelers: Benny Snell Jr.-He’s a good value here (#122 on my board ironically enough) and projects as a good backup who runs hard, keep his legs moving, breaks tackles, and adds a physicality to your running game. He is the perfect guy to give James Conner a breather as they are similar guys and he can keep that Steelers running game going. He doesn’t have great athleticism so he probably is just a backup BUT his film was so good it wouldn’t shock me if he snuck in as a low end starter. He just knows how to run the ball and is very physical so it’s a good pick in the 4th.

126 Bears: Riley Ridley-I love this pick (#86 on my board) as he is that perfect #3 or #4 WR for a team. He runs great routes, has good hands, and has great body control. He just isn’t much of an athlete so he won’t get open a ton but his routes are probably the best in this draft class so he shows obvious separation for his QB and makes easy reads for them. That’s important for guys like Dak and Trubisky who don’t show good anticipation. I love the value and love the fit. One of the better picks of this Day 3.

Cowboys update: With 5 picks till they are on the lock, here is my Top 10 available.

First Name Last Name Position
Mack Wilson LB
Deionte Thompson S
Emanuel Hall WR
Blake Cashman LB
Amani Oruwariye CB
Kelvin Harmon WR
Caleb Wilson TE
Martez Ivey OT
Kaden Smith TE
Dexter Williams RB

I have Deionte Thompson as the #2 available, Mel Kiper as him as #1 available, and McShay has him as #1 available. The Cowboys have the chance for an absolute steal at #129. Let’s make it happen!

128. Cowboys: Tony Pollard-Never heard of him and he wasn’t on my list. I’ll scout him tonight and put my analysis in the full recap but suffice it to say this is very Trysten Hill pick level annoyance not Connor McGovern level happiness. This is quickly becoming a very poor draft by the Cowboys. Also I knew they wanted to upgrade at RB but Dexter Williams would have been a steal here. Below are my best 7 available RBs available when the Cowboys chose Pollard. I’m not in love with Weber or Trayveon Williams but Dexter Williams, Rodney Anderson, and Myles Gaskin all would have been good selections here with Elijah Holyfield and Karan Higdon solid choices but probably available in the 5th to be honest. I specifically love the idea of Rodney Anderson as he was very injury prone but his film was right up there with Josh Jacobs and Miles Sanders, he just couldn’t stay on the field. Zeke is a workhorse, why not roll the dice with Anderson as he’d actually add some juice to the running game. Dexter Williams BTW has major red flags character wise so it makes some sense to pass on him but I still loved his film. Oh well, I’ll scout him later and hopefully be impressed.

First Name Last Name Position
Dexter Williams RB
Rodney Anderson RB
Myles Gaskin RB
Elijah Holyfield RB
Karan Higdon RB
Mike Weber RB
Trayveon Williams RB

130. Chargers: Drue Tranquill-He was #112 on my board so a good value here. He projects at worst to be a great nickel LB but has some starter potential despite being undersized.

133. Patriots: Jarrett Stidham-He was #167 on my board so I wasn’t a big fan but he’s a big, strong armed kid with accuracy issues who some really liked. I was never a fan of his and thought he had really bad film in 2018. Actually his 2017 film was better than his 2018 film so he has a high bust potential but there are starter traits and even I’ll admit that. Going to the Patriots could be the perfect thing for him but I’ll stick to my guns and say he is not going to make it.

136. Cowboys: Traded down for 149 and 213 to Bengals

139. Cardinals: Deionte Thompson-This is an absolute steal. He went #139 but was #39 on my board so this is a wow pick. Add in the fact that the Cardinals already added Hakeem Butler in the 4th and they are almost already guaranteed as having the best Day 3 of the draft. I don’t really get why Thompson fell other than durability concerns but he’s a ballhawk ho was a big time playmaker at the best program in the country. At one point last year he was perceived as a mid to late 1st rounder. Yes his production tapered off as the year went on but I just don’t see why he dropped like this. For Cowboys fans this continues the streak of me pounding the table for some, the Cowboys passing, and the rest of the NFL saying “okay we’ll get that steal.” Juan Thornhill at #58, Christian Miller at #90, Deionte Thompson at #136.

144. Colts: Marvell Tell III-He was much higher on my board than others (#94) so it’s not a steal to most but I think he has starter potential and was securely in that “2nd tier” of safety which has already been picked clean. I liked his film and saw the athleticism and combo skills to be a good quarters safety or FS in some schemes. He has his flaws but put on the Texas film and tell me he doesn’t have playmaking potential. Great pick.

146. Lions: Amani Oruwariye-Great pick (#52 on my board) who I compared to Bradley Roby both positive and negative wise. He has 1st round measurables and 2nd round film so why did he fall to the 5th? Toughness as his tackle totals were terrible and he played very soft and apathetic at times. I didn’t like him and might have taken him off my board entirely as a GM BUT this kid has obvious starter tools and it wouldn’t shock me if he’s a very good #2 CB 2 years from now so in the 5th its a great roll of the dice.

149. Cowboys: Traded down again netting 158 and 218

150. Packers: Kingsley Keke-Great pick as he was my #83 guy and I really liked his film. Everyone seemed to fall in love with Daylon Mack and his superior measurables but I always had Keke with the higher grade. Interesting to see him get drafted higher so I guess the rumors weren’t true or Mack had bad interviews or something. Keke is that solid starter who you get in Day 3 and makes your franchise really good. He has enough athleticism to get a decent pass rush and enough strength and length to play well vs. the run. He needs to add some weight, or stay where he’s at if they want him as a 3-4 DE in their scheme, but I like the strength/athleticism combination and projected Keke as a low level starter. Great value here.

153. Redskins: Ross Pierschbacher-Great pick here as he was #97 on my board and projects as a low level starter at OG. Getting a possible starter, or at worst a really good backup, in the 5th is great business. He and Deionte Thompson fell which is surprising as the NFL seems to vastly overrated Alabama’s players every year but missed on two guys I liked.

155. Browns: Mack Wilson-Wow, great pick and amazing value (#27 on my board, last 1st rounder left, he was the last for a long time too). I maybe overrated him but putting on his film he is fast, is a big hitter, and is that rare guy who is both tough and rangy. I still love him and think he’s an absolute steal here. Don’t be shocked if he’s a sub LB in year 1 and a starter in year 2. This pick, Deionte Thompson, and Hakeem Butler are my three biggest value picks on Day 3.

157. Jets: Blake Cashman-He was my #4 LB and an early to mid 2nd rounder so in the 5th he’s a steal (#45 Overall on my board). He’s a bigger linebacker so makes sense as a 3-4 ILB but one who had underrated athleticism. I loved his film and think this will be one of the better picks of Day 3 when we look back in a few years.

Cowboys Update: They are on the clock and don’t appear to be trading down so below is my Top 10 available.

First Name Last Name Position
Emanuel Hall WR
Kelvin Harmon WR
Caleb Wilson TE
Martez Ivey OT
Kaden Smith TE
Dexter Williams RB
Terry Beckner Jr. DT
Cameron Smith LB
Jalen Jelks EDGE
Chase Hansen LB

158. Cowboys: Mike Jackson-He’s a big corner who fits Kris Richards’ system to a T. I didn’t love his film and really disliked how he wasn’t even on the field till his junior year, a big red flag in my scouting process, but he has a great size/speed ratio and is a developmental corner. He does not project as a ballhawk so he’s another big guy with questionable ball skills, something I feel we have too much of already. He was my #180 on my board and the 3rd highest CB as the position had been pretty well picked clean (Kris Boyd from Texas and Saivion Smith from Alabama were much higher graded CBs in my rankings. Below is his profile. I am less than thrilled:

Mike Jackson Miami 6’0 ⅝ 210 Sr. He ran a 4.45 40, 13 reps, ‘40 ½ vertical (elite), 10’10 broad (elite), 4.12 shuttle (average), and 7.12 3 cone (average) with ‘32 ½ arms (long) and ‘9 ¾ hands (big). He barely played in 2015 (5 tackles) and 2016 (7 tackles), had a great year in 2017 (43 tackles, 1 sack, 4 INT, 5 PBU), and a down year with no big plays in 2018 (42 tackles, 2.5 sacks, 6 PBUs). He’s another big corner with good height, great size, and long arms who tests as an elite athlete but doesn’t play up to that speed/quickness. He’s a strong, physically imposing corner so a team seeking a “matchup corner” for bigger wideouts on the cheap might look at him but otherwise he’s only a fit for press man teams. I don’t like his tape very much and really don’t like his career trajectory as I’m a big believer that precociousness and HS pedigree matters (only a 3 star recruit) and reduces the chances of a bust and Jackson is the opposite as he didn’t even get on the field basically until his junior year. To have one year with INTs in a four year career is a bad sign as well. On tape he’s tightly built, has mediocre speed (he definitely does not play like a 4.45 athlete), is not very quick, and doesn’t have good instincts. He has great size and good arm length so a press man defensive scheme might take a shot at him as a #5 CB and special teamer that they can try and develop but that’s all I see in him, a roll of the dice project type. Mid 7th round as my #16 CB who struggled to get on the field at Miami early in his career and it shows why as he’s a raw player who has numerous deficiencies but rare size likely gets him drafted earlier than warranted. 4/12/19

160. Ravens: Daylon Mack-Good pick. I didn’t think he was ever as good as his HS recruiting ranking or the buzz he got from his good Senior Bowl practices but in the 5th it’s a good pick. He is a bit one dimensional as he’s a huge guy with a great initial burst who just submarines OL and either causes disruption or gets pancaked. His burst for his size is elite but he’s still a very raw player and has a high bust potential. Again though, in the 5th it’s a great spot as a roll of the dice type as he has some starter traits without a doubt.

162. Vikings: Cameron Smith-He was #75 on my board so another steal for the Vikings who have had one of the best drafts of any team. He is a bigger linebacker so probably is a SLB but I liked his film and thought he was an underrated linebacker in a class most viewed as having a huge drop off after the two Devins. To me he was a 3rd round talent so in the 5th it’s a huge steal in my eyes.

165. Cowboys: Joe Jackson-Not on my list. Another I’ll have to scout later and provide a profile on tonight or tomorrow.

167. Eagles: Clayton Thorson-I wasn’t a huge fan (#185 on my board) but Mel Kiper said he played hurt and I didn’t know that when I scouted him so maybe that would have changed my grade on him. Some viewed him as a great developmental QB so he’s worth keeping an eye on, especially since he’s going to a bit of a QB whisperer in Doug Pedersen. He resurrected Nick Foles career and makes the game easy for his QBs by game planning around their strengths. Interesting pick.

171. Giants: Darius Slayton-#142 on my board so good value and is that low level starter talent wise who has great speed so don’t discount his ability to be a #2 or #3 receiver focusing on deep routes. For Day 3 it’s good value but with Emanuel Hall still on the board I think the Giants went with the wrong deep threat. Since it’s the Giants I’m very happy about that.

176. 49ers: Kaden Smith-Great pick (#67 on my board) as it’s amazing value and a good fit. The 49ers obviously have a star TE and one with great speed and athleticism. Kaden is on the bubble of low end starter or high end #2 TE and with Kittles he can be the high end #2. Also he has great body control, runs good routes, has a high football IQ, and just knows how to get open despite mediocre athleticism. That’s a great fit with George who is much more of a deep threat and has great speed. I think he’ll surprise as a productive player.

181. Bills: Jaquan Johnson-#135 on my board so great value here. I had him and Redwine with very similar grades as good #3 safeties who likely are good backups and special teamers but outside chance as lower level starters. Redwine went much earlier so good value. Also Sean McDermott understands how to use safeties with mediocre athleticism so who knows, maybe he ends up as a starter.

182. Bengals: Trayveon Williams-I was not a huge fan of his projection wise as he seemed like that classic great college back who underwhelms in the pros. He isn’t big enough or strong enough to play his current game as a full time starter, bell cow and isn’t athletic enough or elusive enough to be a great scat back. That being said at 182 it’s just good value (#165 on my board) and that’s from a scout who didn’t love him. At some point you say F it, he had great production, and should be a solid backup. Good value in the 6th.

192. Vikings: Oli Udoh-A classic project type as he has crazy long arms (’35 1/2) and is a mammoth man who has decent athleticism. Give him 1-2 years as a backup OT and he might just surprise as a solid starting RT.

199. Packers: Dexter Williams-Amazing pick and legit sleeper in dynasty. I had him #72 on my board and saw him having similar talent to Josh Jacobs, Miles Sanders, and Rodney Anderson. Anderson dropped due to a horrible injury rapsheet and Williams dropped due to character red flags. He missed part of 2018 due to suspensions and he has a lot of background concerns but just as a player he’s big, strong, and has great athleticism. He is very boom/bust but in the 6th round? Huge steal!

202. Saints: Isaiah Prince-#113 on my board so he’s great value and was one of the two last OTs I liked (Martez Ivey still out there confusingly but I think he dropped on character concerns). God pick.

206. Redskins: Kelvin Harmon-He was #55 on my board so he’s a steal here and adds to the Redskins already very good draft haul. They arguably had the best 1st round of any team as Haskins in the mid 1st is good value, rare to get your QB of the future at good value spots in the draft, and Sweat in the late 1st is just a massive steal (Top 5 talent on my board). Harmon and Haskins are a good fit too as Haskins doesn’t throw a good deep ball and Harmon isn’t a deep ball receiver. He’ll work the short and intermediate routes and be a good fit with Haskins. I see a plan in Washington and I like it a lot more than the plans being worked in New York and Detroit. They might surprise in 2020 once all their young guys get a little experience.

211. Bengals: Rodney Anderson-I’ve hated the Bengals draft (odd as usually I really like their philosophy) except for 1st rounder Jonah Williams but it’s coming back around as Trayveon Williams earlier in the 6th was solid value and Anderson in the late 6th is a huge steal. He was #105 on my board and I thought his 2017 film was better, I repeat BETTER, than Josh Jacobs 2017 film. He had 200 yards rushing vs. Clemson guys, the kid has serious talent. He might never stay healthy but this is a great pick here as they have their bell cow in Mixon so he can come in and make plays when healthy and give Mixon a lower workload and when he gets hurst then Mixon gets the full load (30 touches). Great value, great fit. I really wish the Cowboys pick in the 4th was half as talented as the Bengals choice in the 6th!

213. Cowboys: Donovan Wilson-Oddly enough I don’t have a profile on him but obviously I know who he is and I really loved him in his time with the Cowboys. This is a steal in my eyes and I honestly am confused how he fell through my sweeps. I had a 3-4 round grade in my mind before I started my official draft process. Him going in the 6th is a reason why he didn’t make my list but to me he’s a SS who can play nickel LB and has surprisingly good cover skills. I’ll create an official profile for him but he’s a steal at this point. It took 213 picks but I finally get to say it, “GREAT PICK COWBOYS!”

215. Bucs: Terry Buckner Jr.-He was #73 Overall and #4 available so a HUGE steal. Also I love the fit as the Bucs love their 3 techniques and Buckness is in that mold. I don’t think he has enough athleticism to be an elite 3 technique but he has enough to be solid and projects as a starter in my eyes. With the Bucs having major issues in their relationship with Gerald McCoy, Buckner might have an opportunity to grab himself a starting job.

217. Vikings: Kris Boyd-#125 on my board so great value. I know a lot of scouts, including myself, were down on Boyd as he never took that next step as a player but in the 7th it’s a steal. He has starter traits and, although he’s tightly built and didn’t really improve that much during his college career, he projects as a #4 CB with the potential to possibly become a #2 down the road. Another steal for the Vikings who are having a great draft.

218. Cowboys: Mike Weber-Great picks back to back for the Cowboys! He was #150 on my board so great value. I wish they had taken Rodney Anderson a few picks earlier as Anderson and Weber have very different grades from me but Weber is a good pick. I thought he actually outplayed the more highly regarded Dobbins and should have been given more carries by OSU. He has good athleticism, is in that Ray Rice mold, and projects as a good #2 RB for the Cowboys. Below is his profile:

Mike Weber Ohio State 5’9 5/8 211 Jr. He ran a 4.47 40 (elite), 22 reps (elite), and ‘33 ½ vertical (average). He had a great true freshman year in 2016 (1,096 6.0 avg 9 TD), a similar year but with fewer carries due to competition (626 6.2 10 TD), and another similar good but not great year in 2018 (954 5.6 avg 5 TD). I’m sure he expected bigger things after his great freshman year but it ended up being his best year as JK Dobbins took over for him as the starter. Purely by stats though that might not have been the right call as Dobbins had a 4.6 avg last year vs. Weber’s 5.6 yet Dobbins got 60 more carries. Weber has a Ray Rice build to him at 5’9 210 as he is short like a scat back but thickly built and is more bowling ball than scat back. He has quick feet and good vision so he tends to run laterally a lot which could infuriate his NFL coaches. I really like his burst and think he plays to his 4.47 40. He’s tightly built and doesn’t move well in the receiving game so I question his fit as a pass catcher. He’s right on that starter/backup bubble but at least he has the burst and athleticism you want if he ends up just as a change of pace as he could run extra hard for a few carries and be a nice pick me up for his team. He breaks some tackles but more often than not goes down on first contact or bounces around for a few yards before going down. He runs hard and is thick but he isn’t the strongest guy and, combined with his inability to keep his job in college, makes me think he’ll be a very good backup. Platoon starter might be an option for him too as he’ll deserve carries in the NFL, I just don’t see anything greater than mediocre starter if he does surprise and snag a job. Overall he’s a Ray Rice type runner with very good speed, decent strength, and good tenacity who projects as a very good backup/change of pace type with the possibility of being in a platoon situation. Late 4th round as my #14 RB. 4/23/19

Also I want to stress that Weber projects as a backup and change of pace guy. He was a late 4th round grade on my board and that’s an impact rotation type grade or low ceiling or low probability starter. He fits that grade and it’s the 7th but this is not going to result in the Cowboys thinking of moneyballing the RB position in 2 years, something that maybe would have been in play if Damien Harris had been taken at #90. Finally, Myles Gaskin (#109) was still on the board and was a much higher grade than Weber (#150) so this isn’t the best pick possible, but it’s good value and I like him more than their 4th round RB who seems more like a special teamer.

234. Dolphins: Myles Gaskin-My preferred RB choice over Mike Weber so this is a steal and I was preaching it earlier this round. I see low end starter or great backup/platoon type with Gaskin as his film is outstanding and I see the quickness, elusiveness, and natural ability as a receiver which makes him a really good player. I’m very surprised he lasted this long. He was #109 on my board.

239. Vikings: Dillon Mitchell-Great value here (#107 on my board) and projects as a #3 or #4 WR who is a do everything type, poor man’s Michael Gallup style WR. He isn’t great at anything but isn’t bad at anything either and teams’ who like all their WRs to run full route trees would love him. The Vikings with elite route runners Thielen and Diggs are that type of team and makes sense.

241. Cowboys: Jalen Jelks-Steal here as he was #4 available and #77 Overall. He’s a long DE who has good strength and flashes quickness and athleticism. He was hurt badly by a 4.9 40 which plummeted his draft stock and deserves a little bit of that criticism as seen in his 2018 game vs. Andre Dillard as he couldn’t win the edge at all. That being said he’s a rich man’s Maxx Crosby IMO (who went in the 4th to the Raiders so again great value in the 7th) as he projects as a 4-3 SDE who dominates against the run with his strength and length ONCE he adds some weight. He also has some good film inside at DT when they moved him inside. I saw major potential with him so to me this is THE BEST PICK of the Cowboys draft. Also interesting that I compared him to Dorian Armstrong who the Cowboys took last year in the 4th. Similar profile as a super long guy who needs to add weight/strength and could become a starting SDE. Below is his profile:

Jalen Jelks Oregon 6’5 ⅜ 256 Sr. He ran a 4.92 40 (terrible!), 19 reps (bad), ‘32 ½ vertical, 9’5 broad, 4.59 shuttle (terrible), and 7.22 3 cone with ‘34 ⅝ arms (elite). Jelks should give Jachai Polite a thank you letter as his atrocious Combine made everyone overlook Jelks really bad Combine. His 40 time, for a thinner guy who lacks strength no less, is simply terrible. I’m not a fan of taking guys off your board solely based on one measurement but would consider it with pass rushers and a 4.9 or worse 40 time as the bust rate on those guys is extremely high. In 2015 he was a designated pass rusher and great on a per snap basis (only 9 tackles but 3 sacks!), became a starter in 2016 with mediocre numbers (31 tackles, 2 sacks, 4 TFL), blew up in 2017 (58 tackles, 6.5 sacks, 15 TFL), and had a down year but overall okay in 2018 (57 tackles, 3.5 sacks, 7.5 TFL, 1 FF). Watching him on film initially he seemed like the consummate 3-4 OLB as he’s tall, long, weak, and athletic. Looking closer at his film/production/Combine measurements I’ve come to the conclusion that he’s a future 4-3 SDE who needs to add 20 lbs to his frame otherwise he’ll be a bust. He just doesn’t have the speed to threaten the edge and is a very weak player who HAS to add weight and a lot of it to succeed at the next level. A 6’5 275 guy with ‘34 ½ arms is intriguing and Jelks could be that guy in 3 years but right now he’s a non-factor as a pure pass rusher. Watch the 2018 Washington State tape and you’ll see that as Andre Dillard had no issues with him all day. Jelks was a productive collegiate in a Power 5 conference so you wouldn’t expect him to be a project type but that’s really what he is. He’s a guy with a rare frame who eventually could be a really good 4-3 SDE if he adds weight and strength over the next few years. Until then he’ll be a below average pass rusher who is good against the run and can be a rotational DE for a 4-3 team. Give him time though and he could blossom into an above average starting SDE, with those types being very rare so I have added some value to his stock due to the rare attributes he brings to the table. Comps for him are Dorian Armstrong and Jarrett Johnson. Early 3rd round as my #11 EDGE who right now is a run stopping DE who lacks the athleticism to ever be a great pass rusher but who has the frame to eventually be a very good 4-3 SDE and excels as a two way player. Project type but one who can contribute immediately while he develops 3/27/19.

254. Cardinals: Caleb Wilson-It’s always fun when Mr. Irrelevant is someone I recognize. Wilson was one of “My Guys” as I see starter potential in him. He’s tall, fast, and has great hands. He needs to gain weight/strength and become a better blocker but he shows the potential to be a good in-line blocker once he adds that weight. He was one of the most prolific tight ends in the nation the past two years on a per game basis so I’m not sure why he never caught on with the scouting community but I thought there was a good chance he went undrafted so I’m not really surprised. He was a late 2nd round grade on my board as #56 so going almost 200 spots lower than my draft board probably makes him the best “value” in the draft. Absolute steal to cement the Cardinals great overall draft. They’ll be fun to watch for a long time.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment