Skip to content

2019 NFL Draft: Day 1 Blog

April 26, 2019

This live blog is over.

Here we go. Unlike most years, there’s still a lot of intrigue with the 1st Overall Pick. Kyler Murray came out of nowhere to be the expected pick but that has waned in recent days with Nick Bosa being a very possible pick. It sets in motion a chain of events with Josh Rosen being kept or traded, Quinnen Williams moving up the board, the #3 pick of the Jets being even more valuable (if Murray is on the board there), etc.

FUCK Booger McFarland is on set! Why God why!!!!

1st Cardinals: Kyler Murray-I love this pick. He was the #1 player on my board, he fits Kingsbury’s offense, and I consider him a true franchise QB. I gave Josh Rosen a mid 1st grade on my board last year but gave Murray a Top 5 grade. That might not seem like much but it is the difference between franchise QB and good QB that has some issues I’m worried about. I have him with a very similar grade to Mayfield last year who had a good year and resurrected a bad franchise in 1 season. He has an incredibly high ceiling, has the potential to be one of the most popular players in the NFL, and goes to the perfect coach who won’t think twice about going “full college offense.” This could be the perfect match between QB and coach. If I’m Cardinals fans I’m excited and don’t care that they one year later will be trading a Top 10 pick in Rosen for probably a 2nd rounder.

2nd 49ers: Nick Bosa-Is the NFL following my board all night? Seriously though Bosa to me was a no-brainer. The 49ers have spent SO MUCH draft capital on DTs (Solomon Thomas, DeForest Buckner, and Arik Armstead. To draft a DT, even one as highly rated as Quinnen Williams, makes no sense as it’d be the fourth DT in the past 6 drafts with a 1st rounder. We all made fun of Matt Millen for taking 3 WRs in 4 drafts or so, why do the 49ers get a pass? Back to Bosa, he’s an easy projection as he’s got perfect height, weight, and strength for the position. I wish he was a little more athletic but with his elite technique I expect him to be a perennial double digit guy just like his brother.

Here’s where the fun picks back up as the Raiders/Giants/Redskins all are eyeing QBs from rumors we are hearing. Who takes the leap and gives up their 2019 2nd rounder and 2020 1st rounder to guarantee themselves their QB at #3. The Jets are open for business!

3rd Jets: Quinnen Williams-Good pick. Many many people think he’s the best player in this draft. I was a little lower on him but he still was #5 on my board. I had Montez Sweat and Josh Allen higher and Allen as a better fit for the Jets 3-4 scheme but honestly this makes sense as Bosa and Williams were universally regarded as the two safest prospects in this draft. I don’t see a scenario where Williams is anything worse than a very good player, bordering on Pro Bowl. That’s a pretty good “worst case.” I’m curious what the offers were for trade downs though as the Jets lost a lot of picks to move up for Darnold last year so I thought they’d trade down to recoup some of that lost draft capital.

4th Raiders: Clelin Ferrell-WOW!!! The first shocker. Some had him as a Top 15 player but I didn’t see anyone with a Top 5 grade on him. He was #28 on my board. The thing with him is he has no weaknesses. He has good athleticism, great arm length, and good production but he was not one of my FOUR, I repeat FOUR, EDGE prospects I had in the Top 6 on my board. I could even get my head around Brian Burns at #4 but Ferrell? This is just bad draft management. Mind you, Gruden last year reached for Kolten Miller. This year he reaches for Ferrell. It’s a terrible trend for a franchise that I would love to regain relevance and shocks me that this occurred under Mike Mayock.

Well it’s official, Mayock does not run the Raiders draft, Jon Gruden still does.

Can’t blame Reggie McKenzie for that one!

5th Bucs: Devin White-I like White (#12 on my board) but some liked him a lot more. The thing about this pick which I love though is I saw this in a mock yesterday and they made a perfect point of why this is a great pick. The Bucs are in the NFC South with…Christian McCaffrey and Alvin Kamara. When those guys are in your division you need a linebacker that can fly and he’s that. He is elite in space. I had issues with him in the box so I didn’t have this high of a grade for him but in space he’s special and is perfect for that division. Decent value, perfect fit.

6th Giants: Daniel Jones-I said in the draft primer that I believed the rumor that Jones was in play at 6. I bet the Giants thought for half a second about taking Josh Allen or trading down with a team who liked Allen or Oliver but in the end they stayed put and took their guy. I usually like that conviction but in back to back years they pass on a reasonable choice at QB. They chose Barkley and Jones instead of Sam Darnold and Josh Allen or Barkley and Dwayne Haskins. I strongly prefer the 2nd and 3rd options over the 1st which they chose. He better work out or Gettleman might be just a 2 year GM. One last thing though: The Giants are going to be a very run heavy team. I expect them to take an OL with their 17th and/or early 2nd rounder. They traded for Zeitler this offseason, they signed Nate Solder last offseason, they drafted Will Hernandez with an early 2nd last year. I don’t like Gettleman’s strategy but he does have one. Run the ball a lot, draft a QB who is an efficient bus driver type, and build that defense. That’s his blueprint and he is slowly moving it along. Daniel Jones to me though is so low upside of a QB it’s a very bad choice taking him at #6.

7th Jaguars: Josh Allen-A dominant defense just got more talented. If there is one issue with their D, other than discipline and coachability ahem Jalen Ramsey, is pass rush. Allen was the most productive pass rusher in the nation last year and has the speed, bend, and versatility to be a great 3-4 OLB. One interesting thing is how great he is in coverage. It could really allow the Jaguars to zone blitz a lot and would be devastating with such speed guys like Myles Jack and Telvin Smith. Great value here (Allen was my #4 player, #1 available) and good fit.

Remember when Will Smith was a well respected actor? Gemini Man looks cheesy as hell!

8th Lions: TJ Hockenson-A lot of people love this pick, I am not one of them. He was a late 1st rounder on my board so in my eyes there is little difference between this pick and the Raiders taking Clelin Ferrell which made Twitter erupt. He’s a great blocker, has good hands, and projects as a good short to intermediate threat. He isn’t a homerun threat, he doesn’t have the size or great leaping ability to be a dominant red zone threat, and he is a good athlete but hardly a great one. To me he’s the reincarnation of Heath Miller. A good player but not a franchise cornerstone worthy of a Top 10 choice. My best available TE was Noah Fant, best available overall was Brian Burns and Greedy Williams.

One additional thing on the Lions pick. The Lions have Matt Patricia as head coach, former DC of the Patriots. This offeason they overpaid for Trey Flowers, a great run stopper at DE with zero years of double digit sacks. Last offseason they drafted Kerryon Johnson earlier than expected and ran the ball more last season than they had in years. This draft they then take a TE best known for his blocking. It’s another formula which is playing out right before our eyes but just like Gettleman’s formula, I think it’s a flawed one. Draft a TE that’s a dominant receiver, sign a pass rusher that is a dominant rusher not run stopper. They are focusing on the little things too much! They are being too smart by half and it will come back and bite them.

9th Bills: Ed Oliver-Interesting pick. Sean McDermott is slowly building a good defense full of hustle guys who have unique athleticism profiles. I have major questions on Oliver as he’s just SO small. He has some amazing film but watch his 2018 Tech game where he gets pancaked over and over again. He isn’t the athlete Aaron Donald is but is even smaller than Donald is. He has major bust potential so he was #21 on my board. I’ll be interested to see how they use him as he’s very talented but is so unique he needs to be drafted by the right team. It might have just happened as Sean McDermott has hidden the issues his safeties have (Micah Hyde, Jordan Poyer) and made them Pro Bowlers. Maybe he turns Ed’s rare, unique talent into a star.

10th Broncos: Broncos trade down with Steelers for 20, 52 and 2020 1st rounder

10th Steelers: Devin Bush-I had him #24 Overall so it’s a bit of a reach for me but not for some people. Some scouts in fact had him ranked higher than Devin White and Bush is MUCH better in the box. He is the perfect 3-4 ILB so it’s a great fit and the Steelers defense hasn’t been the same since they lost all of those great linebackers years ago. The Bud Dupree , Jarvis Jones, and Ryan Shazier era is officially a bust (three first rounders, no building blocks 5 years later), time to rebuild and Bush is a good start.

For Joe: Good trade for the Broncos, especially if they want Drew Lock. With Haskins still on the board it feels safe to trade down, especially since the Bengals seem to not be in the market for a QB (no idea why with Dalton still Dalton but whatever). Also the Broncos have a number of holes on the OL and on defense, plus could use a TE (Fant at #20?) so someone quality will be there at #20 if Lock doesn’t fall. If he does then they added a 2nd and a 1st next year while still getting their QB. Win/win either way IMO.

11th Bengals: Jonah Williams-This is a perfect pick for the Bengals. I compared Jonah to one tackle over and over again. That guy is Andrew Whitworth who is the 2nd greatest LT the Bengals have ever had and they’ve missed him tremendously since he left for the Rams a few years ago. The Bengals took two OTs a few years ago yet neither one has been great and both project as RTs. Jonah I think is a legit LT but at worst he’s a Pro Bowl caliber OG. He was #9 on my board so he’s good value at #11 and a great fit for a blue collar city and a team with a QB that needs a better running game than he’s received the past few years (biggest reason they dropped from playoff team to mediocre team).

Dan Orlovsky on Twitter just compared TJ Hockenson to Kyle Rudolph. Yeah I’ll be right about Hockenson not being a Top 10 talent. Give it 2 years.

12th Packers: Rashad Gary-Well I knew this was coming and I knew I would hate it. He was #63 Overall so it’s a huge reach to me but some view him as a Top 10 talent. He basically had mid round film except for 6-8 wow plays which made him look like a superstar. Watching ESPN’s highlight reel I’m seeing most of those plays. He just doesn’t have a lot of great film so I was out on him and if I was a GM he wouldn’t even be on my board. This is a classic boom/bust pick which will be interesting to review in 3 years.

13th Miami: Christian Wilkins-He was the #35 Overall on my board so it’s a reach but three things: 1) Many love Wilkins more than me, I suspect he will be far inferior to both Jeffrey Simmons AND Jerry Tillery 3 years from now 2) I don’t value DTs who aren’t pass rushers and Wilkins projects as a great run stopper but a 2-4 sack a year pass rusher so he was probably never going to be a 1st rounder 3) I think DTs are very overvalued on draft day as looking back at their history they rarely make the impact their draft position warrants.

Say it with me now folks, DTs that aren’t great pass rushers ARE NOT 1ST ROUNDERS. I need to make t-shirts so it catches on. That’s one of my draft philosophies and is why Wilkins, despite very good tape, was an early 2nd. I just wouldn’t put him any higher since he’s not a pass rusher. Did you hear more about Vita Vea/Da’Ron Payne, or Derwin James/Leighton Vander Esch last year during their rookie years? Exactly. DTs always underperform. By the way Vea and Payne were both taken EARLIER than James and Vander Esch.

14th Falcons: Chris Lindstrom-Another guy I expected to go in the 1st AND I expected to hate. This is the biggest reach of the 1st round from my board as he was ranked #159 (early 5th). He had an amazing Combine but I just didn’t think he had good tape. Maybe I’m wrong on him but the tape just didn’t show the elite athleticism is measurables had. If I was doing a Mayock-Jon comparison Lindstrom vs. Michael Deiter likely would be on the list as Deiter is the better player by a lot in my eyes but most have Lindstrom as a late 1st and Deiter as a mid to late 2nd. Even in that regard this is a reach but this is the worst OG class I’ve ever graded so the Falcons probably looked at the other options and said, “Let’s take the only guy with a Top 50 grade a little early.” This is a need pick with not great value by most people, terrible value by me.

15th Redskins: Dwayne Haskins-This is a good fit for him. I like him, I don’t love him, but at #15 Overall it’s pretty solid especially considering the franchise and the mess they have been in at QB the past half decade. RGIII was a bust, Cousins didn’t want to stay there, and then the Alex Smith injury. You never can have a consistent franchise unless you have a consistent QB situation. He projects as a bus driver but he has decent accuracy, seems like a really good kid, and is one of the quicker guys I’ve ever graded at going through his reads. He threw to his 3rd or later quite often and he just looked like a rich man’s Dak Prescott. It’s why I don’t love him but also why I see this making some sense.

As a Cowboys fan I’m pretty happy to have a division with Haskins and Jones the next half decade. That should tell you all you need to know about this choice.

We are officially in the middle of an OL run (11 & 14) as Dillard, Taylor, and Bradbury are all available with the Giants, Vikings, Broncos all coming up in the next 5 picks.

16th Panthers: Brian Burns-Great pick as he was my #1 still available (#6 Overall) and projects as a superior pass rusher than #4 Overall Clelin Ferrell. He is a rich man’s Harold Landry with a great first step, elite speed, great bend, and good arm length and frame. The possibility is there for him to add weight to his frame and become a legit 265 lb DE. If that happens, the sky is the limit. If it doesn’t he’ll still be a good pass rusher as a 4-3 WDE but will be undersized so he’ll be mediocre vs. the run.

Top 6 available on my board just for shits and kicks:

  1. Montez Sweat
  2. Greedy Williams CB
  3. Noah Fant TE
  4. Nasir Adderley S
  5. Jeffrey Simmons DT
  6. Jerry Tillery DT

17th Giants: Dexter Lawrence-Wow just realizing why Clemson won the national championship! Haha, but seriously he has some wow film but again, say it with me folks. “DTs that aren’t great pass rushers ARE NOT 1ST ROUNDERS!” I’ve been saying 6 or 17 would be a DT for months now as that is Gettleman. Remember when he took a DT in the 1st AND 2nd round in the same year for the Panthers? Remember when he took a DT in the 1st round in a year he had two great ones already? I do. The guy spent a 1st rounder on a bench player because he likes DTs that much. I’d have gone Montez Sweat here but posted my Top 6 available as I had two DTs worthy of this selection and Lawrence was not one of them. This is a big reach and I just laugh as a Cowboys fan that the Giants had picks 6 and 17 and got my #44 and #59 players on my board. Give Gettleman an extension!!!!!

18th Vikings: Garrett Bradbury-He’s my #1 C and has been ever since I saw him. I moved him from a late 1st to an early 2nd but really have no issue with him here as it’s a reach but he’s so much better than the #2 C on my board that it works. He’s one of the best technicians I’ve ever graded as an OL. If he was a bit stronger and bigger I would have kept him in the 1st round. Either way, I follow a few Vikings analysts on Twitter and they’ve been complaining for years that they don’t draft OL so he’s a great fit.

19th Titans: Jeffery Simmons-Good pick as he’s the #4 available on my board and #11 Overall. He has major red flags as he had an off the field incident in 2016 which is disturbing but he had no other issues at Mississippi State. Then he followed it up with an ACL tear during the draft process so his stock was all over the place. He likely won’t play in 2019 but when he does get on the field I see a guy similar in talent to Fletcher Cox as he has rare athleticism, agility, and bend for a 300 lb DT. He has all the talent in the world AND IS THAT great pass rusher so he is a 1st rounder. There were a lot of red flags to sort through but 3 years from now I think this will look like a steal as he has Top 10 talent. He is far more talented than either of the Clemson DTs so I’m glad he went at 19 not 17 to the Giants.

Um ESPN you’re ruining by beer buzz with all of this domestic violence stuff.

20th Broncos: Noah Fant-Great pick. #3 available and #8 Overall on my board so he’s a steal at #20. I get why some thought Hockenson was the better TE but to me Fant is clearly the superior player. I love the way the Broncos are stacking their roster with young skill position talent (Fant, Sutton, Hamilton, Freeman, Lindsay). All are young and all are cheap so eventually that offense will turn the corner as it is gaining too much explosiveness not to. Great pick, great fit.

If the Seahawks draft Montez Sweat at #21 it’s such a steal and cements a great offseason for them. I’ve complained quite a few drafts at how poorly they’re run and how they’ve just been living off the 2012 NFL Draft yet locking up Wilson, trading a 1st for an overrated Frank Clark, and then following it up by getting my #3 Overall player in Sweat would be a pretty impressive trifecta.

21st Seahawks: Traded down to Packers (netting 30, 114, 118). Not surprising as I even said I could see them trade down with both their 1sts and get like 7 2nd rounders if they wanted to. It might make some sense too.

21st Packers: Darnell Savage-Huge surprise both that a S went this early (most had the safeties with late 1st grades at best) but also that it was Savage. He was my #5 S so I think this is a huge reach, again for the Packers! He was #48 Overall and Gary was #63 Overall so two huge reaches for the 2nd year GM. I love his first two picks last year with the corners but am very unimpressed this year.

22nd Ravens: Traded pick to Eagles for 25, 125 (4th) and 197 (6th rounder)

22nd Eagles: Andre Dillard-Great pick, damn it! Dillard is higher on my board than Jawaan Taylor who was expected to go earlier so a little bit of a surprise but Dillard projects as a LT while Taylor is a RT so it makes sense. The Eagles have had the best OT duo in the NFL the past half decade with Jason Peters and Lane Johnson but Peters has been gimpy lately and is 37 so it’s honestly shocking he still is playing as well as he did. I love this pick. Good value, great fit.

OL run continues (11, 14, 18, 22) with Jawaan Taylor, Cody Ford and maybe a surprise in Greg Little being the last ones left to possibly join in on this run….and the Texans (needing OL help) are now on the clock.

23rd Texans: Tytus Howard-Well I predicted OL but definitely not Howard. Wow this is a reach. What’s also interesting is he’s a project RT (#144 on my board) so it’s not even like they did a force for a LT. He plays the same style as Taylor and Ford who were all rated much higher than Howard. A very odd pick. I just never understand why teams don’t trade down. No one was taking Howard in the 1st. I heard 2nd round chatter a bit but even that would have been rich for me so 23rd is just crazy. Worst pick in the 1st round so far, Chris Lindstrom was rated lower on my board but MANY people liked him in the 1st. Howard had no 1st round backers that I heard of.

24th Raiders: Josh Jacobs-Interesting pick. I don’t hate it but I just feel that both Ferrell and Jacobs are good players but neither are franchise cornerstone types. They might get out of a 1st round with 3 guys and no foundation pieces? Also again I just don’t see this as a Mayock pick which is sad. That being said he’s the best RB in this class, he’s very physical, and he has underrated quickness so he can make guys miss and projects as a 3 down back. It’s not a huge reach but it does continue the very bad night for the Raiders.

25th Ravens: Marquise Brown-A lot of people don’t like this pick but Brown was my #1 WR and a mid 1st grade on my board so I like it. I also love it with Lamar Jackson who needs guys who can separate and who throws a good deep ball. He’s a great bubble screen candidate, stretches the field better than anyone else in this class and, coupled with Lamar Jackson and his speed in shotgun, is a very interesting and dangerous offense. The Ravens should go full spread with their personnel and I think Brown is a logical draft choice if they go that route.

I hate you Bugger McFarland. I hate you.

26th Colts: Traded to Redskins for 46 and a 2020 2nd rounder.

By the way that is some really low compensation on first blush. A lot of times a mid 2nd to late 1st requires next year’s 1st rounder. The Redskins got the 26th just for two 2nd rounders? Am I missing something?

26th Redskins: Montez Sweat-Great pick, shit! I love this pick as he was the #3 Overall Player on my board, obviously #1 available, and projects as a very high level pass rusher. I think he has a FAR better upside than Clelin Ferrell and even has a slightly higher ceiling than #2 Overall Pick Nick Bosa (he whispers sheepishly as he doesn’t want this to blow up in his face if Sweat is a bust and Bosa is a superstar). I loved Sweat’s tape, his Combine was amazing, and I just don’t see why he fell. Yes there was a heart issue but I heard it was minor so I think it really is more about his personality.

I’m still stunned that they just got Sweat for two second rounders! This might end up being THE best move in the entire draft when we look back on this night 3-5 years from now.

27th Raiders: Johnathan Abram-A few things:

First, the Raiders bad night continues as they’ve now gotten a late 2nd round graded guy on my board so with the 4th, 24th, and 27th they got my 28th, 49th, and 60th best players on my board. That is called a terrible night.

Second, this is already the 2nd safety taken. That bad news for Cowboys fans as I’m hoping one of the top 6 safeties is taken. The good news is the safeties taken have been my #5 and #6 so the best are still available. Could Nasir Adderley be available at #58? Doubtful but Juan Thornhill is a possibility.

Third, I didn’t like Abram (#6 safety) so I’m a little glad he’s gone now…unless it makes the Cowboys take Zach Allen.

Fourth, I think the Raiders draft is pretty bad BUT all three guys are very physical, hard nosed guys so at least they have a type.

Oh and by the way that was the Cowboys pick SO the Cowboys chose Amari Cooper and his high priced contract vs. Greedy Williams on a cheap 5 year rookie deal who I would LOVE having. As much as I love Greedy, Amari is just a perfect fit with the limited QB skills Dak possesses (needs separation, struggles with anticipation, struggles with back shoulder throws) so I begrudgingly go Amari.

28th Chargers: Jerry Tillery-Great pick as he was #3 available and #13 Overall on my board. I said that Tillery would drop so it doesn’t surprise me in the slightest he went here, I saw early 2nd as a possibility, but it did surprise me WHY it happened as a lot of scouts didn’t like him. He had great production, great film, and a great Combine. I don’t get why so few were on board with Tillery as a Top 15 player. Chargers got a steal as Tillery will team with Bosa, Ingram, and Corey Liuget to make one of the best defensive lines in the NFL.

29th Seahawks: LJ Collier-As usual the Seahawks do the draft differently than EVERY OTHER TEAM. I did not like Collier as a pass rusher but he has very long arms and is a physical oversized 4-3 SDE so he fits their scheme as they like the bigger DE who then moves down to DT on passing downs. He was my #153 on my board so he’s a Top 3 worst pick in this 1st round. Not a surprise it was by the Seahawks as their shitty drafting track record continues.

30th Giants: DeAndre Baker-Well I might be wrong on Baker but if I’m not wrong then this will go down as just an atrocious draft night for the Giants as I had a Top 10 grade on Greedy Williams (#7 Overall) as a CB while Baker was a mid 5th rounder (#163 Overall). I was lower on Baker than anyone I saw so again I might have missed on him but I just didn’t see a good athlete. He was stiff, not fast straight line speed, and was more of a pure zone corner with good instincts but who lacks the athleticism to play man.

Bugger just said Dave Gettleman had “one hell of a night.” That is why I hate you Bugger. You talk more out of your ass than any announcer I’ve ever heard.

31st Rams: Traded pick to Falcons for 45th and 79th (Falcons gave back the 203rd to the Rams)

These trades just seem crazy cheap right now. I don’t really get it. Everyone must be going off the “new board” now and I, not used to it.

31st Falcons: Kaleb McGary-It’s funny how I’ve spent the past month saying Jawaan Taylor is not worth a Top 15 selection and now I find myself saying, “McGary over Taylor?” Funny how things change but Taylor was ranked #23 on my board while McGary is ranked 115th so obviously I think this is a bad pick. He’s a huge man but I didn’t see him having the athleticism to stay at OT so I moved him to OG. Even there I saw him as a late 3rd rounder and just an above average starter so 31st as an OT is a huge reach.

32nd Patriots: N’Keal Harry-Damn that’s a good pick. I had a late 1st round grade on him (#32 Overall ironically enough), he has some Dez Bryant to him, and he could be a dominant red zone threat if taken by a team with a great QB. Oh crap that just happened. They finally drafted that big jump ball receiver they’ve shied away from ever since Randy Moss umm made NFL History with the most TDs in a single season. It’s odd they never went back to that mold but I guess they thought it wasn’t needed with Gronk. Now that Gronk is gone they go Harry. He might just be the odds on favorite for #1 Overall in Dynasty format, Josh Jacobs will be in the running too.

 

Quick analysis:

  • Giants and Raiders had terrible nights getting a lot of 2nd rounders with their three first round picks.
  • The Redskins on the other hand got Dwayne Haskins and Montez Sweat with picks 16 and just their 2nd rounder this year and next year. Those are both steals so their fans should be pretty happy about how much value they got from their draft picks tonight.
  • The Cardinals did the right thing and took a franchise QB in Kyler Murray. That seems like a no brainer now but he wasn’t the odds on favorite for 1st Overall, or even seemed in the running, until they said so. A lot of teams would have said no we took our QB just last year we can’t cut bait this quickly. In fact I bet the Giants will pass on a far more talented QB in 2020 or 2021 because they now have Daniel Jones. It’s a common practice to focus too much on sunken cost and the result is you compound that mistake. Credit to the Cardinals for making the right move.
  • The Bucs (Devin White), Bills (Ed Oliver), Steelers (Devin Bush), Bengals (Jonah Williams), and Vikings (Garrett Bradbury) all made selections that seemed to be great fits for the scheme and/or organization. I wasn’t even a huge fan of Oliver but think I will be in a Bills uniform as they seem to utilize unique talents to the best of their ability.
  • There were few skill position players taken but the Broncos getting Noah Fant at #20 and the Ravens getting Marquise Brown at #25 both seem like good values and great fits to young offenses. Fant is a great fit with Sutton as Fant isn’t the jump ball guy some prefer in a TE, and Sutton isn’t the super speedy deep threat some prefer in a wideout. They arguably switch roles and the roles being from different positions makes it even harder on the defense. Brown is just pure speed and is a great fit with Lamar Jackson who works best in spread formations. Those two will be a dangerous duo for a long time in the AFC North.
  • The Giants at #17 (Dexter Lawrence), Packers at #21 (Darnell Savage), Texans at #23 (Tytus Howard), Seahawks at #29 (LJ Collier), and Falcons at #31 (Kaleb McGary) all took players I didn’t see ever in 1st round mocks. Outside of Lawrence and Savage these guys were massive reaches on my board and I’ll be curious how they look in 3-5 years as I suspect most will look very foolish. There were a lot of trade ups tonight which seemed very cheap. I wonder if some of these reaches were after they got offers and just said it’s not worth it. The Sweat trade was the worst/best as I still am confused how the Redskins got the 26th Overall for a mid 2nd this year and their 2nd next year. That seems crazy to me but I’ll have to research to see if anyone else saw that as severely undervalued.

Overall it was a good night to be a Cowboys fan as the Giants face planted on draft night and Haskins is great value but not a super dangerous threat long term in the division. It takes them out of the running for Tua, Herbert, and Lawrence the next two years so that’s a nice sigh of relief. Below are my Top 10 guys still available. I heard Greedy would drop but all the way out of the 1st round? That’s just strange for a 6’1 corner with sub 4.4 speed and great ball skills. I suspect some team will move up tomorrow afternoon before the 2nd round starts so they can select him at #33 or #34. We shall see. Goodnight draft nerds.

  1. Greedy Williams CB
  2. Nasir Adderley S
  3. Hakeem Butler WR
  4. Jace Sternberger TE
  5. Greg Little OT
  6. Justin Layne CB
  7. Will Grier QB
  8. Jawaan Taylor OT
  9. Byron Murphy CB
  10. Mack Wilson LB

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. peter permalink

    Supposedly Jawaan Taylor fell because of problems with his knee. Trading down was cheap, in line with last year, and much less than a few years ago. The lower prices seem more fair. The story was that everybody thought there was not much difference once you got out of the top 15.

    So many bizarre moves. The Giants probably could have drafted DeAndre Baker without trading down.

    Nobody went for D.K. Metcalf, which was probably correct.

    • Interesting about the cost going down recently but in line with last year. I agree it was a bit prohibitive. Surprised Greedy dropped. I think he’s the steal of the draft, or Montez Sweat.

Leave a comment