Skip to content

Live Blog (Day 3)

April 29, 2023

Refresh regularly

Day 3 is here and the board has been picked pretty clean but there are a few guys that surprise me with their availability. Everyone has “their guys” which are still available but the 7 below were pretty universally regarded as Day 2 picks so I expect them to go soon:

Adetomiwa Adebawore EDGE

Clark Phillip III CB

Tyler Scott WR

Luke Wypler IOL

Dawand Jones OT

Kelee Ringo

Isaiah McGuire EDGE

Of those I see Wypler being a legit option for the Cowboys but I highly doubt they trade up. I think RB is a very real possibility in the 4th so Zach Evans or DeWayne McBride would be steals if they last that long. Hopefully the Cowboys get a steal or two and turn around their draft as currently I have them as one of the lower draft grades in the league.

Below are my Top 20 available off my board:

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Adetomiwa Adebawore EDGE2056NR
Clark Phillips III CB2462NR
Jaelyn Duncan OT26NR
Nick Herbig EDGE3064NR
Noah Sewell LB37NR
Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson CB4069NR
Moro Ojomo DT4193NR
Zion Nelson OT Mid 2nd42NR
Eli Ricks CB47NR
AT Perry WR5296NR
Ivan Pace Jr. LB59NR
Isaiah McGuire EDGE6095NR
Tyler Scott WR6285NR
DeWayne McBride RB6598NR
Kayshon Boutte WR69NR
Andrew Voorhees OT70NR
Karl Brooks EDGE7299NR
Luke Wypler IOL7454NR
Zach Kuntz TE Mid 3rd77NR
Kyu Blu Kelly CB82NR

Reminder I won’t talk on each pick as Day 3 is where boards really diverge, lots of guys go that aren’t on other people’s boards and my list of universally liked guys runs out so I didn’t grade them.

103. Saints (trade): Nick Saldiveri-Good start to the draft as he was well regarded and if you are trading up for the 1st pick on Day 3 this is the type of guy you get. I see him as an OT/OG tweener but he should stick somewhere and he’s a very good athlete. I like IOL in the 4th as you can still get expected starters where as at most other spots it’s a developmental guy or roll of the dice type. Reason also why I don’t like OGs in the 1st, just like RB as starters are easy to find in the 3rd-4th. Good pick here to start things.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Nick Saldiveri OT1038491NR

104. Raiders: Jakorian Bennett-He was opposite Deonte Banks last year and was a very solid #2 CB. He’s a good athlete but didn’t have the cleanest tape and I saw him being a guy with better measurables than what you saw on film so they didn’t fully translate to the field. I had a mid to late 3rd on him so good value here and the Raiders really need CBs, Christian Gonzalez at 7th was a possibility, so good value/good fit.

3rd straight traded pick to start the day as again you want the universally regarded guys that fell out of Day 2. Likely the Eagles get another steal….damn it!

105. Eagles (trade): Kelee Ringo-Their obsession with the Bulldogs is silly at this point. Most love this pick but I did not. He was Top 70 for PFF and Top 50 for Jeremiah but was 123rd to me. He was beat a lot and grabbed a lot. I don’t see him ever being a good CB and moved him to FS. He’s big and fast and experienced though so at 105 it’s not a bad pick, I just don’t see steal like most do. He was in my Top 7 universally regarded though so it again shows the Eagles working this draft to perfection. Hopefully I’m right and this is a strikeout because Jalen Carter probably won’t be. Yikes their roster is stacked.

110. Colts: Adetomiwa Adebawore-The Colts are working their way up the draft rankings as they got my #1 player in Anthony Richardson and now get one of the biggest steals of the entire draft. I had a late 1st round grade on this kid and saw him as comparable to Ezekiel Ansah who went 5th Overall had a solid career. He’s a DE/DT tweener with elite arm length and awesome strength. I don’t see a difference in talent between him and Tyree Wilson and considered them both 4-3 SDE who will dominate against the run and be solid #2 pass rushers (6-10 sacks a year types). To get him at 110? That’s crazy and PFF sees it similarly as he was a mid to late 2nd on their board. Outstanding value here, he was my #1 available for about 20-30 picks now, ever since Drew Sanders was taken mid 3rd.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Adetomiwa Adebawore EDGE1102056NR

111. Browns: Dawand Jones-Wow I didn’t even like this kid but I see it as a steal here. He got some late 1st round buzz and I was against that but gave him a 3rd as he’s the biggest, tallest guy in this draft but also not a great athlete. He’s a gigantic RT who could dominate if things go right but I see his pass pro as being very bad and I’d worry about him constantly against speed or slippery rushers. At 111 though it’s a no brainer and some will call this pick the steal of the draft. PFF had him #31 on their board and is why he was one of the “Top 7” I posted. No surprise 3 of the 7 are gone 10 picks into the 4th.

113. Falcons: Clark Phillips III-Another of my “Top 7” now 4 gone in 12 picks, Phillips was one of my favorite players to grade in this draft as I love the small, feisty ballhawk types. He’s comparable in talent to Asante Samuel Jr., Jalen Pitre, etc. and those guys were early 2nd rounders who have been great pros so I don’t see why these guys keep dropping on draft day. Elijah Moulden went in the late 3rd a few years ago, same type of guy. This is a steal and yes I was higher on him than most but PFF had a late 2nd grade on him and he goes in the early/mid 4th. Massive steal as I expect very good starter with high INT totals. He’s a great compliment to AJ Terrell as Terrell can man up on the best WR while Phillips can play the other with safety help and cheat regularly for picks as he has help if he guesses wrong. That’s how I’d play them but we’ll see as some saw him as a career slot guy which would hurt his value. In either spot he’s a steal in the 4th.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Clark Phillips III CB1132462NR

115. Bears: Roschon Johnson-Great pick here as I was lower on him than most, some had 3rd round grades I had 4th, but you can see their thinking as he’s a perfect complement to a smaller, more athletic back which is what they have in house with Khalil Herbert. Johnson will be battling D’onta Foreman for that big back role and might give them an opportunity to move on from Foreman down the road. Another example of moneyballing the RB position with Day 3 picks (Herbert/Johnson) supplemented by cheap veterans (Foreman). The trio will be more than adequate and costs your team little draft capital or salary cap. It’s a smart way to build though I agree also on the occasional overpay if it’s your identity (Falcons, Seahawks, etc.).

126. Browns: Isaiah McGuire-Another of my “Top 7” and the Browns are adding steals left and right in the 3rd and 4th round. McGuire was a late 2nd/early 3rd round rusher to me as he’s a very physical power rusher. It’s not by type of rusher so I was surprised I was the leader of his fan club but he was the only guy I saw give Darnell Wright trouble last year and that really impressed me. He’s as physical and strong as any EDGE in this class so in the mid 4th it’s a massive steal.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Isaiah McGuire EDGE1266095NR

Cowboys are on the clock in 2 picks so here is my updated Top 10.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Jaelyn Duncan OT26NR
Nick Herbig EDGE3064NR
Noah Sewell LB37NR
Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson CB4069NR
Moro Ojomo DT4193NR
Zion Nelson OT Mid 2nd42NR
Eli Ricks CB47NR
AT Perry WR5296NR
Ivan Pace Jr. LB59NR
Tyler Scott WR6285NR

128. Rams: Stetson Bennett-I love this pick. He was my QB6 and had a grade close to Will Levis (didn’t like Levis). I get it he’s tiny and old but he has a good arm, had elite productivity the past two seasons, and he has elite athleticism. I think he is faded a bit because he’s white as the kid is a special athlete and was incredibly efficient as a runner in the SEC. He can’t be a true dual threat guy but if Stafford gets hurt for a few games I think Bennett can come in and win a game or two and if they unleashed him as a runner he’d be a stud. Yes he’d get hurt if that was done for a whole season but as a backup playing only a couple games why not run him into the ground and make him a star for a game or two. I wanted the Dolphins to take him as he’d fit that season perfectly and Tua gets hurt so he’d play but this is a solid fit.

129. Cowboys: Viliami Fehoko-I didn’t scout him. He’s a DE from San Jose State. This is an even odder pick as DE is clearly the team’s deepest position. Parsons/Lawrence/Fowler/Armstrong/Williams is their top 5 and they are adding to it? Even if I like the guy, I’ll scout him later, I consider it a waste. They’ll probably have to redshirt him as most teams don’t keep 6 DEs on their roster and they are stacked at the top 5. I don’t get it at all. PFF had him ranked #141 on their board.

131. Bengals: Charlie Jones-Oooh this is interesting. Jones is that Hunter Renfrow type career slot guy that I knew would go Day 3 and I suspect will be a 10 year player. He’s not a star but he’s an underrated athlete who runs great routes, has amazing hands, and is very strong. He was a star last year at Purdue but is older and did nothing at his first two colleges. Put on the Penn State film and you see him flat out beat Joey Porter Jr. (1st pick in the 2nd round) over and over again. I graded him as an early 4th but I almost changed it to mid to late 3rd as his contested catches and film was so damn good. He could definitely be a steal and paired with two big boys on the outside (Chase/Higgins) it’s a perfect fit. I think he’s going to surprise. Great pick/great fit.

132. Steelers: Nick Herbig-Another one of the biggest steals of this entire draft. I was out on a limb with him and had an early 2nd round grade but PFF had him 64th so most would say it’s a massive steal at 132. I actually think he can be a 3-4 OLB but most don’t see him as a rusher because he has short arms. He was a top graded rusher each of the past two seasons by PFF, had double digit sacks back to back seasons, and he has about as good of bend as any rusher in this draft. It’s funny how people see one negative and move on. He’s fast, he’s bendy, he’s physical, he has elite production but but but he has short arms. Okay I get it so take him in the 3rd but late 4th round? That’s insane. He had far better stats than Tyree Wilson the past two seasons and better tape yet Wilson goes Top 12 and Herbig goes 132. Good luck with that. The Steelers got another steal to join Broderick Jones and Darnell Washington. They quietly are having a Top 5 draft class.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Nick Herbig EDGE1323064NR

133. Bears: Tyler Scott-Another massive steal, he’s one of the last of my “Top 7” still on the board. I had him as a poor man’s Zay Flowers as he’s a small guy but is thick and far more than just a speed guy. His speed is right up there though with Hyatt and Mims as the best in this entire draft class so I don’t get why he goes so late. Fields will like this kid and he has limited competition for the 4th WR spot behind Claypool, Mooney, and Moore so I suspect he sticks. Great value pick here.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Tyler Scott WR1336285NR

138. Colts: Darius Rush-I liked him but some loved him (PFF #70) so it was shocking he lasted this late, early 5th round. He has good film as a corner and moves very well for a bigger guy. He reminds me a bit of the Central Florida CB a few years ago Aaron Robinson who has been a good player for the Giants. He’s big, physical, and feisty so he fits in a press scheme.

143. Jets: Israel Abanikanda-Good pick here. I was lower on him than I thought the consensus would be and then checked rankings and saw I was actually a little higher than the consensus. Yes he has his flaws as he doesn’t break tackles and is a one year wonder but he has a good frame, has elite long speed to take it to the distance, and he’s one of the younger players in this draft class. In the 5th round it’s a steal as I could see him being a Chubba Hubbard type low end starter/high end backup. Hubbard was my comp both style and talent wise and was a 3rd or 4th for the Panthers a few years ago so in the 5th it’s a steal.

144. Titans: Josh Whyle-I liked Josh and I get that he doesn’t have great athleticism but he’s a very smart TE who knows how to get open and has good size and ball skills. I think he’ll be a steal and had him #95 on my board so at 144 it’s a steal. He was ranked by me ahead of Luke Schoonmaker though Luke has better speed. Josh ran better routes and had better hands. He’s probably a career #2 TE but I see the same with Luke. In the 5th round it’s a steal for that type of guy, in the 2nd it’s a reach. Just saying…

148. Bears: Noah Sewell-The brother of Penei, he’s a huge ILB who fits well in a 3-4 scheme where he won’t be in man coverage and can float as a middle zone guy. He has great instincts, great bend, and was a dominant tackler in 2021 but had a down year in 2022. I loved his film and graded him on par with Jack Campbell as a mid 2nd so the fact Campbell is a reach as a mid 1st and Sewell drops to the 5th is wild to me. Neither are good in coverage but Sewell had some poor man’s Devin Lloyd tape as that bendy, physical, instinctive inside backer. I don’t get why no one liked him but he might surprise as a long term starter in Chicago.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Noah Sewell LB14837NR

157. Ravens: Kyu Blue Kelly-I get why he dropped as he’s not the fastest guy and is a little tight but he was very solid in man coverage for multiple years at Stanford. I had a Top 100 grade on him and saw him as a low end #2 CB or high end #3 CB so this is a steal to me. He was beat deep by Jordan Addison and probably needs safety help but he has good size and good ball skills so in the right scheme I suspect he’ll surprise and be another steal for the Ravens. Very solid pick here.

9 of my Top 10 were picked early but 1 (Luke Wypler) is still available. I wonder if he had medical issues no one knows about as he’s a top available by Kiper and Mike Renner (PFF guy I trust). It’s very odd he’s still available as I wouldn’t have had an issue with him going in the late 2nd/early 3rd.

Jaguars: Antonio Johnson-I liked him but PFF loved him so it’s surprising he’s still here. He’s a SS type with poor man coverage skills but good instincts and great run support. PFF liked his cover skills more than I did but everyone loved his big hits and run support. This is another example of why SS is just like RB in that you can find starters on Day 3 all the time and it’s just super easy to find these guys. Johnson could easily become a starter and will be among the cheapest starters in the league if that happens so great value here.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Antonio Johnson S16012253NR

164. Vikings: Jaren Hall-I love this pick and had him as QB7. He has a weaker arm but he’s very accurate, has underrated athleticism, and was a smart pocket passer that got it done for BYU. In the 5th it’s a steal and he’s QB12 taken already (record by the way) so good job by the Vikings getting value even after so many have been taken. Guys with better arms were taken earlier but he’s smarter, a better decision maker, and more accurate. He’ll be a good backup and might surprise as a starter down the road which is what the Vikings are hoping for with Cousins contract coming up.

167. Texans: Henry To’oTo’o-Great pick as he’s a very small, thin MLB and has size issues but he has elite instincts, good athleticism, and had elite productivity at Alabama. He was a stud and is similar to Brian Branch in that you just have to accept the size limitations and focus on the film. Henry is that Dat Nguyen type player that all the analytics say no but the film says hell yes. Trust the film in the 5th round and take a guy like him. He’ll also be a great special teamer.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Henry To’oto167109NR

With the Cowboys up in 1 pick, here is my Top 10 available.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Jaelyn Duncan OT26NR
Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson CB4069NR
Moro Ojomo DT4193NR
Zion Nelson OT Mid 2nd42NR
Eli Ricks CB47NR
AT Perry WR5296NR
Ivan Pace Jr. LB59NR
DeWayne McBride RB6598NR
Kayshon Boutte WR69NR
Andrew Voorhees OT70NR

169. Cowboys: Asim Richards-I did not scout him. He’s an OT for North Carolina and PFF ranked him #227 so not much love for him but I’ll scout him and see.

I’ll post sporadically through the final 2 rounds but refresh less frequently as this is the spot in the draft where I don’t know many players. I predict the Cowboys take Max Duggan in the 6th if he’s there.

176. Colts: Evan Hull-It’s not surprising he went this late as I didn’t even catch him on my first wave but added him late after seeing fantasy Twitter like him so much. I loved his film as he reminded me of Dameon Pierce with better receiving skills. Hull is a bulked up short guy with great inside running ability and is great at picking his way through traffic. Those guys usually don’t have good receiving skills but he has a burst and is a solid receiver. He could be a 3 down back but his talent level means he probably never will be, especially with JT in the backfield. Still in the 6th round it’s a steal and continues the very good drft by the Colts.

178. Cowboys (trade) Eric Scott-I didn’t scout him. Interesting that they traded up for him. #335 by PFF.

182. Rams: Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson-I had him 40th on my board as he was the damn Thorpe Award Winner. He also has blazing speed and good ball skills so why the hell did he go 182nd? He has terrible, actually probably non-existent is a better word, technique and is a wild player. He got away with it in college as he’s an elite athlete but he’s a project and is raw. That being said he’s insanely fast, is tough as hell, and has great ball skills. I compared him to PacMan Jones as that insane athlete with a lot of rough film. Still though at this spot it’s crazy value and I really like the fit as they play a mix and match scheme in their secondary which will allow him to be in zone and in man at times. They got the most out of Ramsey but also lesser talents like LaMarcus Joyner who is similar sized. I think this could be one of the steals of Day 3 and love the fit.

186. Titans: Jaelyn Duncan-Discrepancy wise this is arguably the best pick of the entire draft as my 26th best player goes 186th. I had an early 2nd round grade on Duncan and he had some 1st round buzz when he was at the Senior Bowl and dominating so I don’t know why he fell so far. I do know he’s soft and lazy so it could be character issues but Duncan is a legit LT with great athleticism and the smoothest backpedal in this entire OT class. I repeat no one, not even Paris Campbell taken in the Top 10, has a smoother backpedal than Duncan does. He has a thick lower body too which allows him to handle power better than you’d expect, so this has to be a medical or character issue. I said he’s a stud but do you really want to re-sign him as he’s always going to be a soft player. I get why he’d drop to the 3rd or 4th maybe but 186 for a top 5 talent at OT? It’s very odd but the Titans have themselves a talent and Vrabel is a good bet to motivate him.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Jaelyn Duncan OT18626NR

190. Browns: Luke Wypler-Well I was right on 6 of my “Top 7” as being universally liked but Wypler apparently should not have been on that list. Wypler is a OG/C guy with good versatility who had great tape last year. I liked him, PFF loved him, and he projects as a Day 1 starter so I was hoping the Cowboys would take him to be their LG next year. Alas the Browns got him and continue their underrated draft as they’ve had a number of steals on Days 2-3. Guys like Wypler start all over the NFL and is why OG is one of the easiest positions to moneyball but I’m still shocked he went this late. I heard 2nd-3rd round buzz on him. Antoher where maybe there’s a medical issue I never heard about.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Luke Wypler IOL1907454NR

195. Saints: AT Perry-The Saints got my favorite RB sleeper Kendre Miller and now my favorite WR sleeper AT Perry. Who knows if either work out but I suspect one of these two will look like an absolute steal in a couple of years. I saw Perry as vastly underrated. He is a very big guy but has sneaky athleticism and is really sudden in his routes like a Cedric Tillman. He also had elite production the past couple of years and is a big, strong handed man that can win red zone targets. I think he fits perfectly long term next to Chris Olave who is a pure speed, deep threat and if Michael Thomas stays injury prone he might be one of the better rookies next year. He’s super polished as a route runner and receiver so I think he’ll surprise as a rookie and bea n impact player. As you can see from the rankings, I was much higher on him than anyone but give it a few years and I think Perry sticks. One of the best picks of Day 3.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
AT Perry WR1955296NR

212. Cowboys: Deuce Vaughn-Hell yeah this is a great pick! I’d have gone DeWayne McBride but Vaughn I really liked, especially as a receiver, and thought he had late 3rd/early 4th round value so in the 7th it’s a steal. He was 107 on my board, 109 on PFF so we saw him in a similar light as a career #2 RB, scat back type who is a complementary piece. One of the reasons I was lower on Gibbs than others is because Vaughn is 80% of what Gibbs is as a receiver and you can get those type of guys (Kenny McIntosh too) very late in the draft. Give me Devon Achane in the 3rd and Deuce Vaughn in the 7th vs. Gibbs in the 1st and I ‘d argue I have both a cheaper and a better backfield. This isa great pick BUT a little odd as it doesn’t complement Pollard at all. Is this just a value pick? Are they planning on bringing back Zeke as they still need a bigger back with inside running skills. Is this a sign they might not extend Pollard? It’s interesting as to how it plays roster wise but either way it’s a steal and I’m glad the Cowboys got one at least on Day 3.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Deuce Vaughn RB212107109NR

Deuce Vaughn Kansas State 5’5 179 He didn’t run but had a ‘35 ½ vertical (average) and 9’8 broad (bad). He was a solid player in 2020 (642 yards 5.2 ypc 7 TDs), had a great year in 2021 (1,404 yards 6.0 ypc 18 TDs, 49 468 4 TDs as a receiver), and another great year in 2022 (1,558 yards 5.3 ypc 9 TDs, 42 378 3 TDs as a receiver). He, Kenny McIntosh, Spears, and Gibbs are the best receivers in this RB class. A tiny RB from Kansas State, who does he remind me of? Hmm…the comparisons are obvious to Darren Sproles but Sproles was so much thicker and stronger. I actually see more Danny Woodhead with Vaughn than Sproles and see him in a similar role in the NFL. He led his team twice in both rushing and receiving but he’s so tiny I don’t know how many rushing attempts he’ll get. As an outside runner on a zone play he could be effective due to his outstanding speed, vision, and quickness but he’s very hit or miss on runs and I don’t think many teams would put up with it. I’d love to see him with the Dolphins or 49ers and see him get 5-10 carries a game just to see how effective he’d be. He has some amazing highlights making guys miss but for the most part he’s just a speed guy and hits the hard full blast so for a team like the 49ers that can scheme him into space he’d be effective due to how quickly he hits the hole. His speed really is special and I’m surprised he didn’t run the 40. He glides down the field at times and gets to top end speed so quickly that he’s an extremely dangerous player in the open field. I see him being more dangerous as a receiving back though and think that’s where he’ll be most effective as Kansas State. Option/arrow routes will be scary with him vs. linebackers but he can run deeper routes and showed it a times. I think his middle of the field work vs. man coverage will be incredibly effective and will make him a long time NFL back, albeit a #2 back in the Tarik Cohen role. He showed great durability at Kansas State but I do worry he’ll have a shorter career, like Cohen, and don’t see full time starter for him despite his elite speed. Overall I love Deuce for what he is and won’t try and make him something he’s not as he’ll be a high end #2 back who excels more as a receiver than as a runner but will never be a full time starter. Late 3rd as my #11 RB 4/19/23.

215. Rams: Zach Evans-Man the Rams are cleaning up late with Hodges and now Evans. These would have been reasonable picks in the 3rd and they are getting them in the 200s! Evans is an elite athlete who runs hard and breaks some tackles. He has the frame to add weight and what intrigues me is what he could be like in 2-3 years at 210 lbs with some improved pad level and a more polished running style. He runs hard and aggressively but isn’t a smooth runner and looks raw to me. He was the 1B to Kendre Miller’s 1A at TCU and then was the backup again at Ole Miss. In both spots he wasn’t the man despite a great YPC so I think the coaches also saw his raw running style. He needs to gain experience but he has starter level talent, I just wonder if he’ll ever get there. With the Rams he’ll immediately look more explosive than Akers and could win the job, especially if the Rams go full on rebuild youth movement which seems likely. He’s a great pick here and makes a lot of sense.

222. Vikings: DeWayne McBride-Another RB steal let and another good fit. The RB rookie have just gone to the worst spots (Gibbs to Lions, Charbonnet to Seahawks, etc.) but Achane, Evans, and now McBride are all value enhancing spots. The Vikings are moving on from Cooks but they didn’t give Mattison a big deal or a long deal (2 years) so McBride could take over that spot in 2024 easily if he shows the tackle breaking ability I saw out of him. I really loved his film as he had Arian Foster mixed with Nick Chubb vibes and was one of the best inside runners in this draft. He was a guy I was hoping the Cowboys took to replace Zeke but the Vikings have him and I really like the fit. I think he’ll steal carries from Mattison very quickly.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
DeWayne McBride RB2226598NR

241. Steelers: Cory Trice Jr.-The sneaky good draft by the Steelers started in the 1st round with Broderick Jones (my OT1 who goes OT4 after they slide ahead of the Jets to take him) and ends in the 7th with Cory Trice Jr. a very solid CB prospect I had a 3rd round grade on. They really did a great job from start to finish and will be one of my Top 5 teams in my draft review. PFF actually liked him even more than I did and graded him 77th so at 241 he’s one of the biggest “discrepancy” picks of this entire draft.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Cory Trice Jr. CB24110477NR

244. Cowboys: Jalen Brooks-I didn’t scout him, PFF ranked the South Carolina WR #346

249. Eagles: Moro Ojomo-Ugh as if their draft couldn’t get any better. They end it with one of the biggest values on Day 3. I was out on a limb a bit of Moro but I really liked his tape and saw pass rush potential with him. He’s a 5th year kid but only 22 still and seems like he’s a late bloomer who is just putting it together. I love this pick as it’s +200 spots later than my rankings. Even if you go off PFF’s rank of 93 it’s a great value so the Eagles start with DT Jalen Carter, a steal at 9, and end with Ojomo, another DT steal this time at 249. They know what they’re doing over there in Philly.

NameDraftedJon’s RankPFF RankJeremiah Top 50
Moro Ojomo DT2494193NR

256. Packers: Grant Dubose-I like this pick and it’s a good fit. I had him #102 on my board so at 256 it’s a steal and I think he sticks. He reminds me of a slightly better Josh Palmer who has been a WR3-4 for the Chargers and I think there are reps available in Packer land so Dubose could be a sneaky 7th round pick.

Alright that’s it for me today. I’ll write a full Cowboys review tomorrow but suffice it to say, this draft was underwhelming and most analysts do not think the Cowboys did well this week. Mazi Smith is well regarded by most, Luke has a few admirers, Overshown is loved by a small group liked by a large group, and Deuce is a steal but regularly it felt like the Cowboys were reaching a bit or taking positions out of order. Why not LaPorta and Keannu Benton vs. Mazi and Luke? Why not Drew Sanders and Darnell Washington vs. Luke and Overshown? Why not McBride instead of Deuce? Why wasn’t OG addressed at all? Why did they stray from a decade plus strategy of not valuing the DT position and suddenly overpay for a 2 down run stopper? So many had Kincaid as one of the blue chip players in this draft, why was a trade up not worth it since Dak’s game works so much better with an elite TE working the middle of the field? There seemed to be a lot of better options on the board so we will trust the Cowboys brass and hope they know what’s best but often when people are left surprised and confused by picks it doesn’t work out in the end.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment